Loving those We Serve

I don’t know if I have posted about this before, but I felt like sharing it today. Several months ago, I was struggling with an aspect of the calling that I had in church. As a member of the LDS church, I believe that I can serve in the church best when I love those that I teach and have stewardship over. At the time, I was serving with the women in what is known as Relief Society. I had the opportunity to teach them often, and to share my testimony with them quite frequently. I felt like I was doing my part in planning activities and such. I could not tell, however, if I was doing my part in loving these women.

One Sunday in Sacrament meeting, a return missionary spoke about his experiences during his missionary service. He said that he too had been struggling with loving those he served. I’m not sure if what I learned was exactly what he said, but during his talk the spirit taught me that if I had compassion and cared for those sisters individually, then I loved them like I should. Later that day, as I sat in the lesson with the Relief Society sisters, this lesson meant even more to me. As a member of the Relief Society presidency, I had the opportunity to sit in the front of the room, facing the other women. As I sat there that day, I was overcome with the realization of just how much I cared for each woman there. I looked at one and thought of how much I hoped she was feeling better that day. I looked at another and thought of what I might do to help her find a job. I looked at another and thought how good a visit to the temple would be for her right then. In that moment I was overcome with the realization that my care for each of them personally and individually was how I loved these sisters.

I know that we have the ability in us to follow the Lord’s commandment that we should love one another. I know that if we learn to care and have compassion for our fellow men (and women) we will love them. I know that as we do this, we will learn and grow to become better people. This is because when we do this we become more like our Savior, Jesus Christ, who loves each and every one of us. I am grateful for this lesson and I hope that more of us will find compassion and love for each other.

0 Responses to “Loving those We Serve”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist