366 Days of the Book of Mormon Challenge Recap

I have enjoyed reading through a bit of the Book of Mormon each day. Seeing as how I do a deeper study of other scriptures as well, it felt good to continue to at least read the words of the Book of Mormon each day. I do believe that it is the greatest book of all time. However, as I have read through these verses each day, I have come to understand that while this has helped me complete a goal of reading the Book of Mormon in its entirety this year, it has not helped me to study the words of the Book of Mormon.

President Howard W. Hunter stated, “There are some who read to a schedule of a number of pages or a set number of chapters each day or week. This may be perfectly justifiable and may be enjoyable if one is reading for pleasure, but it does not constitute meaningful study. It is better to have a set amount of time to give scriptural study each day than to have a set amount of chapters to read. Sometimes we find that the study of a single verse will occupy the whole time.” (“Reading the Scriptures,” Ensign, Nov. 1979, 64.)

I encourage each of my readers to take the next step in truly studying the scriptures, by setting aside an amount of time to make a more in depth study as opposed to reading a certain number of pages each day. If, however, you are still interested in reading some verses each day to read for the spirit of reading the Book of Mormon, you are welcome to use this challenge (366 Days of the Book of Mormon) and begin again from my archived posts (see January 1, 2015).

0 Responses to “366 Days of the Book of Mormon Challenge Recap”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


