1 Kings Chapter 5

King Solomon had established his kingdom in peace. His father, David, had been given the promise that the time for a more permanent house to the Lord would be after his reign, and during the reign of his Son, when their was peace. Solomon was now going to be the one to build the temple. Up to this point, the Israelites had worshipped in the tabernacle as they had commanded by the Lord. This chapter begins:

1 And Hiram king of Tyre sent his servants unto Solomon; for he had heard that they had anointed him king in the room of his father: for Hiram was ever a lover of David.
2 And Solomon sent to Hiram, saying,
3 Thou knowest how that David my father could not build an house unto the name of the Lord his God for the wars which were about him on every side, until the Lord put them under the soles of his feet.
4 But now the Lord my God hath given me rest on every side, so that there is neither adversary nor evil occurrent.
5 And, behold, I purpose to build an house unto the name of the Lord my God, as the Lord spake unto David my father, saying, Thy son, whom I will set upon thy throne in thy room, he shall build an house unto my name.
6 Now therefore command thou that they hew me cedar trees out of Lebanon; and my servants shall be with thy servants: and unto thee will I give hire for thy servants according to all that thou shalt appoint: for thou knowest that there is not among us any that can skill to hew timber like unto the Sidonians.

Solomon asked Hiram of Tyre, to help him get the wood he needed, in order to build the temple. Hiram had loved King David as a good friend. He provided supplies for David to build his house years before, and sent his servants to Solomon when he heard he had become king. Solomon was able to begin preparations for building the temple, because the Israelites had peace with all of their neighbors. Solomon was prepared to have his servants work along side the servants of Tyre, and to pay them for their work, because he knew the best woodwork would come from the trees of Lebanon cut by the Sidonians.

7 And it came to pass, when Hiram heard the words of Solomon, that he rejoiced greatly, and said, Blessed be the Lord this day, which hath given unto David a wise son over this great people.
8 And Hiram sent to Solomon, saying, I have considered the things which thou sentest to me for: and I will do all thy desire concerning timber of cedar, and concerning timber of fir.
9 My servants shall bring them down from Lebanon unto the sea: and I will convey them by sea in floats unto the place that thou shalt appoint me, and will cause them to be discharged there, and thou shalt receive them: and thou shalt accomplish my desire, in giving food for my household.
10 So Hiram gave Solomon cedar trees and fir trees according to all his desire.
11 And Solomon gave Hiram twenty thousand measures of wheat for food to his household, and twenty measures of pure oil: thus gave Solomon to Hiram year by year.
12 And the Lord gave Solomon wisdom, as he promised him: and there was peace between Hiram and Solomon; and they two made a league together.

Hiram agreed to help Solomon with the wood, in exchange for food for his household. The two continued in this agreement for years and had peace between them.

13 And king Solomon raised a levy out of all Israel; and the levy was thirty thousand men.
14 And he sent them to Lebanon, ten thousand a month by courses: a month they were in Lebanon, and two months at home: and Adoniram was over the levy.
15 And Solomon had threescore and ten thousand that bare burdens, and fourscore thousand hewers in the mountains;
16 Beside the chief of Solomon’s officers which were over the work, three thousand and three hundred, which ruled over the people that wrought in the work.
17 And the king commanded, and they brought great stones, costly stones, and hewed stones, to lay the foundation of the house.
18 And Solomon’s builders and Hiram’s builders did hew them, and the stonesquarers: so they prepared timber and stones to build the house.

A group of 30,000 Israelites were sent to work in Lebanon with the men of Hiram, under the direction or payment of Adoniram, who was over the treasury. In groups of 10,000, they would alternate between spending a month working and then returning home for two months. The men cut stones and trees in the mountains, and carried them down for the building of the temple. I have heard of the early saints doing the same kind of things in order to build the temple. Many of the men would devote a certain number of days from their work-week, to the building of the temple. They would cut stones and trees in the mountains just as the Israelites of old. They did these things out of their devotion and love for the Lord. I am sure that the Israelites committed their time out of love for the Lord and for their king.

As I read this short chapter, I am reminded also of the detail given to the Israelites regarding the building of the Tabernacle, and just how much of that information has been recorded in the scriptures. It is evidence to me of the great importance of temples in the work of the Lord. So much of these writings are devoted to these descriptions, and they teach me that the Lord wants His people to have temples to worship and to serve. I am so grateful to live in a time, when the work of building temples continues under the direction of the Lord’s living prophets. I know that temples are the Lord’s holy houses and that the service and work done in temples is key to the work of the Lord. The salvation of all mankind, is made possible by the work done in the temples. I have the privilege of living near a temple that is under construction now. I look forward to its completion in 2017. I am sure that Solomon and his people, felt greatly blessed by the opportunity to build the temple, just as I feel it now.

0 Responses to “1 Kings Chapter 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


