1 Samuel Chapter 27

King Saul had attempted to kill David time and time again, but the Lord had continued to protect David. David had refused to kill Saul two times when the opportunity had presented itself, because he knew that Saul had been anointed by the Lord, as ruler over Israel. Even though Saul had gone in peace from their last confrontation, David knew that this was not the end of Saul’s desire to destroy him. This chapter begins:

1 And David said in his heart, I shall now perish one day by the hand of Saul: there is nothing better for me than that I should speedily escape into the land of the Philistines; and Saul shall despair of me, to seek me any more in any coast of Israel: so shall I escape out of his hand.
2 And David arose, and he passed over with the six hundred men that were with him unto Achish, the son of Maoch, king of Gath.
3 And David dwelt with Achish at Gath, he and his men, every man with his household, even David with his two wives, Ahinoam the Jezreelitess, and Abigail the Carmelitess, Nabal’s wife.
4 And it was told Saul that David was fled to Gath: and he sought no more again for him.

David knew that he needed to flee from Israel, into the land of the Philistines, in order to be safe from Saul. He took 600 of his men, and feld to the land of Gath. This was where Achish, the son of the king of the land, was living. All of his men lived there with their families. David lived there with his wives, Ahinoam and Abigail. Saul learned of David’s flight and stopped looking for him.

5 And David said unto Achish, If I have now found grace in thine eyes, let them give me a place in some town in the country, that I may dwell there: for why should thy servant dwell in the royal city with thee?
6 Then Achish gave him Ziklag that day: wherefore Ziklag pertaineth unto the kings of Judah unto this day.
7 And the time that David dwelt in the country of the Philistines was a full year and four months.

David asked Achish if he would allow them to live in the country, and Achish gave him the area of Ziklag. Ziklag became a land for kings of Judah from that point on. David and his men lived in Ziklag for 16 months.

8 And David and his men went up, and invaded the Geshurites, and the Gezrites, and the Amalekites: for those nations were of old the inhabitants of the land, as thou goest to Shur, even unto the land of Egypt.
9 And David smote the land, and left neither man nor woman alive, and took away the sheep, and the oxen, and the asses, and the camels, and the apparel, and returned, and came to Achish.
10 And Achish said, Whither have ye made a road to day? And David said, Against the south of Judah, and against the south of the Jerahmeelites, and against the south of the Kenites.
11 And David saved neither man nor woman alive, to bring tidings to Gath, saying, Lest they should tell on us, saying, So did David, and so will be his manner all the while he dwelleth in the country of the Philistines.
12 And Achish believed David, saying, He hath made his people Israel utterly to abhor him; therefore he shall be my servant for ever.

David and his men fought the Geshurites, Gezrites and Amalekites, destroying them and taking the spoil of war back to Achish. David made sure to destroy all of the people that would have possibly went about saying that David would destroy the Philistines. Achish believed that David was making an enemy of himself to the people of Isreal, and that he would remain a servant to him because of it.

I don’t know of any gospel principle that we learn from this chapter, but it does continue to teach the story of David. Saul stopped his search for David, for the sixteen months that he lived among the Philistines. I am sure that he was inspired to escape there for a time. David fought for the Philistines during this time, building a relationship with them, though we learn from verse 11 that his purpose was to be able to remain there in peace, as opposed to having an uprising against him and his men.

0 Responses to “1 Samuel Chapter 27”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


