Joshua Chapter 14

The children of Israel were the posterity of Abraham. Abraham had been promised a land of inheritance from the Lord. That land was the inheritance of the Israelites, from that day on. The prophet, Moses, had led the Israelites to their promised land, and Joshua had helped lead them to conquering the land. The Lord had instructed Joshua to divide the land among the tribes of Israel.

1 And these are the countries which the children of Israel inherited in the land of Canaan, which Eleazar the priest, and Joshua the son of Nun, and the heads of the fathers of the tribes of the children of Israel, distributed for inheritance to them.
2 By lot was their inheritance, as the Lord commanded by the hand of Moses, for the nine tribes, and for the half tribe.
3 For Moses had given the inheritance of two tribes and an half tribe on the other side Jordan: but unto the Levites he gave none inheritance among them.
4 For the children of Joseph were two tribes, Manasseh and Ephraim: therefore they gave no part unto the Levites in the land, save cities to dwell in, with their suburbs for their cattle and for their substance.
5 As the Lord commanded Moses, so the children of Israel did, and they divided the land.

The leaders of Israel divided the land of Canaan, under the direction of the prophet Joshua who had been commanded by the Lord to do so. All the tribes were given land, except for the Levites who were given a place to live, but no inheritance there. Nine and a half tribes received inheritances on the western side of the Jordan, while two and a half tribes had already received their land under the direction of Moses.

6 Then the children of Judah came unto Joshua in Gilgal: and Caleb the son of Jephunneh the Kenezite said unto him, Thou knowest the thing that the Lord said unto Moses the man of God concerning me and thee in Kadesh-barnea.
7 Forty years old was I when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh-barnea to espy out the land; and I brought him word again as it was in mine heart.
8 Nevertheless my brethren that went up with me made the heart of the people melt: but I wholly followed the Lord my God.
9 And Moses sware on that day, saying, Surely the land whereon thy feet have trodden shall be thine inheritance, and thy children’s for ever, because thou hast wholly followed the Lord my God.
10 And now, behold, the Lord hath kept me alive, as he said, these forty and five years, even since the Lord spake this word unto Moses, while the children of Israel wandered in the wilderness: and now, lo, I am this day fourscore and five years old.
11 As yet I am as strong this day as I was in the day that Moses sent me: as my strength was then, even so is my strength now, for war, both to go out, and to come in.
12 Now therefore give me this mountain, whereof the Lord spake in that day; for thou heardest in that day how the Anakims were there, and that the cities were great and fenced: if so be the Lord will be with me, then I shall be able to drive them out, as the Lord said.
13 And Joshua blessed him, and gave unto Caleb the son of Jephunneh Hebron for an inheritance.
14 Hebron therefore became the inheritance of Caleb the son of Jephunneh the Kenezite unto this day, because that he wholly followed the Lord God of Israel.
15 And the name of Hebron before was Kirjath-arba; which Arba was a great man among the Anakims. And the land had rest from war.

Caleb had been with Joshua when the Israelites had sent spies into the land of Canaan, before they wandered for forty years. He had shown greater faith then the other spies and was blessed by the Lord for it. It had been forty-five years since that time, and Caleb was now 85 years old, but still strong and capable. Caleb asked for the mountain of Hebron, where the Anakims had been, and which had been promised to him in the days of Moses, as an inheritance. Joshua blessed Caleb and gave him the land he requested, for his inheritance.

There were greater rewards or blessings received by Caleb because he had shown great faithfulness to the Lord. Choosing a life of faith, can be hard these days. It can seem at times that those who are not faithful, receive great rewards and honors. These will not be lasting blessings. If we are faithful, we will receive greater blessings than those others, just as Caleb did. Rewards for the faithful, are eternal rewards that cannot be taken away by anything on this earth, but which require patience, faith and hope to achieve.

0 Responses to “Joshua Chapter 14”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


