Notes on Patience – Unity in the Church

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

18 Therefore be diligent; stand by my servant Joseph, faithfully, in whatsoever difficult circumstances he may be for the word’s sake.
19 Admonish him in his faults, and also receive admonition of him. Be patient; be sober; be temperate; have patience, faith, hope and charity. (D&C 6:18-19)

5 For his word ye shall receive, as if from mine own mouth, in all patience and faith.
6 For by doing these things the gates of hell shall not prevail against you; yea, and the Lord God will disperse the powers of darkness from before you, and cause the heavens to shake for your good, and his name’s glory. (D&C 21:5-6)

  • I need to have patience with others in the church. Patience brings a unity that strengthens the church of Christ. I must recognize that all people are human and make mistakes. The gospel is still true even if someone I look up to does something that is not according to its standards. This is something I understand much more as an adult than I did as a child. I think I allowed the flaws of my church leaders to hinder the growth of my own testimony. Now as I recognize my own flaws, I can see that we are each trying to do the best as we understand it. Even the prophet and other general authorities are mortal beings striving to live as people of God. If I have patience with my fellow saints and my leaders, doing all that is asked of me, God will not let them lead me astray. My patience with them, will make me stronger and I will learn so much more, especially when my faith must be tried.
  • Advertisements

    0 Responses to “Notes on Patience – Unity in the Church”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


