Notes on Patience – Father in Heaven Knows Best

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

21 Nevertheless the Lord seeth fit to chasten his people; yea, he trieth their patience and their faith.
22 Nevertheless—whosoever putteth his trust in him the same shall be lifted up at the last day. Yea, and thus it was with this people. (Mosiah 23:21-22)

And thus we see that except the Lord doth chasten his people with many afflictions, yea, except he doth visit them with death and with terror, and with famine and with all manner of pestilence, they will not remember him. (Helaman 12:3)

And if thou shouldst be cast into the pit, or into the hands of murderers, and the sentence of death passed upon thee; if thou be cast into the deep; if the billowing surge conspire against thee; if fierce winds become thine enemy; if the heavens gather blackness, and all the elements combine to hedge up the way; and above all, if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good. (D&C 122:7)

  • I desire to be a good daughter of God. I strive to live to make Him proud of me. Just as I want my own children to be good, God desires for me to be a good daughter. President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Second Counselor in the First Presidency said the following:

    Patience—the ability to put our desires on hold for a time—is a precious and rare virtue. We want what we want, and we want it now. Therefore, the very idea of patience may seem unpleasant and, at times, bitter.

    Nevertheless, without patience, we cannot please God; we cannot become perfect. Indeed, patience is a purifying process that refines understanding, deepens happiness, focuses action, and offers hope for peace. (Continue in Patience)

    To fulfill my purpose of pleasing God, He will try my patience and faith. That is the way that I will learn to remember him, turn to him, and trust in him. He knows what rewards await me, and what I need to be able to do in order to have them. He knows the best for me. He can see every flaw and mistake in my life. Learning to trust God, is a matter of having greater faith in him and having the patience to do what he says, because as my father, he knows best. All these things will be for my eternal good.

  • Advertisements

    0 Responses to “Notes on Patience – Father in Heaven Knows Best”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
    Testimony

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


