Notes on Patience – Progress on the Path to Perfection

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

Here is the patience of the saints: here are they that keep the commandments of God, and the faith of Jesus. (Revelation 14:12)

Ye are not able to abide the presence of God now, neither the ministering of angels; wherefore, continue in patience until ye are perfected. (Doctrine and Covenants 67:13)

  • I think that even though I have a long way to go to perfection in patience, I need to recognize that I do have it. I have it enough to faithfully continue to try to do what is right and to turn to the Lord for forgiveness when I do wrong. I have not given in to many of the things of the world. I have enough patience and faith, to recognize that my life (my eternal life) is better when I keep the commandments. I’m on the right track. I should be worried if I think life’s good enough and I don’t need to work so hard any more. I loved a talk given by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf back in 2011 called “Forget Me Not”. In it, he had this to say to the sisters:

    God is fully aware that you and I are not perfect.

    Let me add: God is also fully aware that the people you think are perfect are not.

    And yet we spend so much time and energy comparing ourselves to others—usually comparing our weaknesses to their strengths. This drives us to create expectations for ourselves that are impossible to meet. As a result, we never celebrate our good efforts because they seem to be less than what someone else does.

    Everyone has strengths and weaknesses.

    It’s wonderful that you have strengths.

    And it is part of your mortal experience that you do have weaknesses. (Forget Me Note)

    Celebrating the good efforts and having patience with ourselves is great and should push us to work through our weaknesses. Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin, of the Quorum of the Twelve, also spoke of this when he said the following:

    We should learn to be patient with ourselves. Recognizing our strengths and our weaknesses, we should strive to use good judgment in all of our choices and decisions, make good use of every opportunity, and do our best in every task we undertake. We should not be unduly discouraged nor in despair at any time when we are doing the best we can. Rather, we should be satisfied with our progress even though it may come slowly at times. (Patience, A Key to Happiness)

    Remember to keep the faith and keep the commandments, and blessings will come.

  • Advertisements

    0 Responses to “Notes on Patience – Progress on the Path to Perfection”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


