Notes on Patience – Justice of the Lord

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

He that leadeth into captivity shall go into captivity: he that killeth with the sword must be killed with the sword. Here is the patience and the faith of the saints. (Revelation 13:10)

Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I am the Lord. (Leviticus 19:18)

The Lord is slow to anger, and great in power, and will not at all acquit the wicked: the Lord hath his way in the whirlwind and in the storm, and the clouds are the dust of his feet. (Nahum 1:3)

But Alma said unto him: The Spirit constraineth me that I must not stretch forth mine hand; for behold the Lord receiveth them up unto himself, in glory; and he doth suffer that they may do this thing, or that the people may do this thing unto them, according to the hardness of their hearts, that the judgments which he shall exercise upon them in his wrath may be just; and the blood of the innocent shall stand as a witness against them, yea, and cry mightily against them at the last day. (Alma 14:11)

Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord. (Romans 12:19)

And thou shalt do it with all humility, trusting in me, reviling not against revilers. (Doctrine and Covenants 19:30)

  • Part of being patient in the Lord, is allowing His justice and mercy to work in His time. I am not one for seeking retribution for the things that others may do to me, but I have close friends and family who are. I can see how spending so much time and energy coming up with ways to get justice for wrongs done leads to so much waste in a perfectly good life. The faith I have, leads to me believe that others will receive the consequences for their actions eventually. Most of them will probably not be something that I will ever see, and that should be okay with me. Hopefully, others recognize the error of their ways and repent, so that they can be better. I know that my life is better spent forgiving and moving on, so that I don’t carry that weight around and destroy my own soul in the process. Forgiving others leads to having a greater love for them, even as I love myself. I need to recognize that sometimes I need to patient in the trials that come from the actions of others, because God is giving them every opportunity to repent so that his judgement will be completely just.
  • Advertisements

    1 Response to “Notes on Patience – Justice of the Lord”


    1. 1 baodad December 18, 2012 at 6:21 am

      I love your blog. I wish I could do the same thing with my gospel study! Thanks for sharing.


    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
    Testimony

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


