Notes on Patience – Listening Well

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

19 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:
20 For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God. (James 1:19-20)

  • The formula to having patience (with others) could be the following: Listening well + Thinking before speaking/acting = Wisdom to avoid anger or offense. Listening is more than hearing words. Listening is letting the words into the heart and mind. When I think before doing, it is best to ponder it slower or think twice (or more). I think that thinking before responding is also a way for the spirit to have a chance to teach me. I am often to quick to let the spirit get a word into my heart. Allowing the spirit to teach me, will give me the wisdom I need to be a more patient person, and at the same time, I will allow others to opportunity to be heard. Elder Neal L. Maxwell once said, “The patient person assumes that what others have to say is worth listening to. A patient person is not so chronically eager to put forth his own ideas. In true humility, we do some waiting upon others. We value them for what they say and what they have to contribute. Patience and humility are special friends.” To be patient, I must learn to be a better listener. (Patience)
  • Advertisements

    0 Responses to “Notes on Patience – Listening Well”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


