Conference Questions – Our Potential Part 1

Recently, I watched the 182nd Semi Annual General Conference for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. When I watch conference, I am always filled with the spirit and a desire to be a better person and draw closer to the Savior. I love to take notes. When I first started being a note taker for learning in church settings, I would write everything I possibly could down. Including what the speakers said, as well as the little lessons the spirit would teach me during the talks. Once that became a habit, I learned that I should really be focused on writing down the things that I am personally taught by the spirit. So, with that as my focus for note taking, I found myself writing down questions that I should be able to answer. The thought then came to me that these are questions that I could attempt to study on this blog. To view other questions in this series, go here: Conference Questions

My second question comes from a talk given by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Second Counselor in the First Presidency, which he gave in the Saturday morning session of conference. He talked about what we might say we regret as our mortal life draws to a close. The question that came to my mind is am I living up to my potential? In other words, am I becoming the person that God wants me to be, as a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a worker, and so on. This question is one that requires some serious soul searching and sincere honesty with ourselves. I had no idea the kind of study this question would have me doing. Sorry for lack of posting over the past few weeks, but this one topic was the reason for it because it is really that good (the topic, not my post). I have attempted to break this post down over a few days, so that my readers can take it a little less at a time.

To answer this question, we have to know what that potential is, that each of us has. Ultimately, this is between God and each individual. There are, however, some scriptures that teach us some general guidelines to the potential we have. As I studied this, I felt that this can be an overwhelming list of things that we may feel we have to be perfect at now. This is not the case. This life is a time for us to progress line upon line, precept upon precept. The point of this is to know where we should be headed and to gauge if we are on the right path or if our lives need to be adjusted.

We are spirit children of a loving Father in Heaven. In Psalms 82:6 we read, “I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.” As children of God, we have the potential to become as our Father and receive all that He has to offer us, just as we have the potential in life to become like our earthly parents if we choose to do so. In Romans 8:17, we read, “And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.” Our potential to become as our Father in Heaven, must be chosen by us, just as being like our earthly parents is our choice. In 3 Nephi 9:17 the Lord teaches, “And as many as have received me, to them have I given to become the sons of God; and even so will I to as many as shall believe on my name, for behold, by me redemption cometh, and in me is the law of Moses fulfilled.” Through the power of the atonement, we have the power to be given an inheritance in the kingdom of God. In order to receive that, we must believe in the Lord. If we believe and follow His ways and commandments, we become the sons and daughters of God after this life by receiving all that he has to offer us. In Doctrine and Covenants 88, it was revealed what would happen at the end of the Savior’s earthly mission (those things that still remain to finish this work):

106 And again, another angel shall sound his trump, which is the seventh angel, saying: It is finished; it is finished! The Lamb of God hath overcome and trodden the wine-press alone, even the wine-press of the fierceness of the wrath of Almighty God.
107 And then shall the angels be crowned with the glory of his might, and the saints shall be filled with his glory, and receive their inheritance and be made equal with him.

The reward for those who believe and follow Jesus Christ, is that they will be made equal with the Lord in all things. We have the potential to be equal in godship, in power, in glory and all that He is.

The potential that God has for us, is to become Gods like Him. What, therefore, are the characteristics of God? What are his eternal roles? This is something that you could really study for the rest of your life and probably not know truly all that He is, but for the purposes of this post, I have turned to a list of characteristics found in the study helps of the scriptures. In the Bible Dictionary we read that God is the, “supreme Governor of the universe and the Father of mankind. … God created all things and is the ruler of the universe, being omnipotent, omniscient, and omnipresent (through his Spirit) … The God of the scriptures is a holy being. … a being who is concerned for the welfare of mankind, and a Personage who hears and answers prayers.” From this we see that God is a governor, a father, and a creator. He has the qualities of being omnipotent (all-powerful), omniscient (all-knowing), omnipresent (present everywhere in spirit), holy, caring, a listener and a helper. In the Topical Guide, words to see also under the heading “God”, add that He is eternal, a giver of gifts, intelligent and wise, just, a law-maker or standards-maker, loving, merciful, perfect, and a worker. These are just a few of the many things that He is and that we have the potential to be.

We have the potential to be a governor or a ruler. God gave our first parents, and all mankind, the authority to be a ruler on earth. In Genesis 1:26 we read, “And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.” God has dominion over all things and has given us dominion over the things of the earth, so that we can learn to become more like him. How do we use the authority over God’s creations? We need to be watchful of the type of dominion we use and be sure to treat these amazing creations as God would have us treat them. Psalms 47:7 reads, “For God is the King of all the earth: sing ye praises with understanding.” If we prove ourselves worthy with all that we have been entrusted with, we will be able to become Kings and Queens, even as God is King of all.

(Coming tomorrow: Conference Questions – Our Potential Part 2)

0 Responses to “Conference Questions – Our Potential Part 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


