Do We Love Life?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of one of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and the posts in this series are an attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study. To view other posts related to this declaration, go here: Relief Society Declaration.

We are beloved spirit daughters of God, and our lives have meaning, purpose, and direction. As a worldwide sisterhood, we are united in our devotion to Jesus Christ, our Savior and Exemplar. We are women of faith, virtue, vision, and charity who:
Increase our testimonies of Jesus Christ through prayer and scripture study.
Seek spiritual strength by following the promptings of the Holy Ghost.
Dedicate ourselves to strengthening marriages, families, and homes.
Find nobility in motherhood and joy in womanhood.
Delight in service and good works.
Love life and learning.

The next question in this series, is do we love life? I know that there have been plenty of times in my life when I have felt in a bit of a rut. It can be really easy to feel like we are just going through the motions, but this is not what life is all about. We are here to learn and grow, which we cannot do if we are just passing the time day to day. What is it that helps us to love life, so that we don’t remain in the state of passing time? It is those things that bring us real lasting joy and happiness. As we learn from Nephi, “men are that we might have joy”. (see 2 Nephi 2:25)

I am sure that what brings me joy and happiness in this life may differ a bit from anyone else I talk to, but I think that the majority of people would at least include their family in the list. Family is the core of all that is important in life. In The Family: A Proclamation to the World, it says that “the family is central to the Creator’s plan for the eternal destiny of His children”. I know that as I make my family a priority and really dedicate myself to them, I find the greatest joy and really love life. To love life, is also to seek after the things that are the best. We love life, when we develop our talents and share them with others. A loved life, is one that is active in those things that are good for us. We do not love life, if we idle away our time, or sit by and let ourselves be acted upon, instead of being active ourselves.

One of the ways that we maintain these feelings of joy is to have a gratitude for life and all it has to offer us. In other words, it is to be grateful to our creator for the life we have been given and the multitude of daily blessings we can enjoy within it. In Job 33:4 we read, “The Spirit of God hath made me, and the breath of the Almighty hath given me life.” We can discover what life is really about, when we turn to God in gratitude. We show that gratitude by choosing to live life, the way that God intended us to. In proverbs 21:21 we read, “He that followeth after righteousness and mercy findeth life, righteousness, and honour.” Also, in 1 Peter 3 we can read the following:

10 For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile:
11 Let him eschew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it.

Ultimately, we can have a greater love of this life and a greater hope in the blessings of eternity if we live well, because we honor God when we do. The Love of God can be found within our hearts, when we live righteously. In Proverbs 8:35 it says, “For whoso findeth me findeth life, and shall obtain favour of the Lord.”

The first commandment is to love the Lord. “And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.” (Deuteronomy 6:5) In order to love life, we must love the Lord. This is because he has said, “I am the light and the life of the world. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end.” (3 Nephi 9:18, emphasis added) The Lord is the life that we should love, because he has given us life and made all things possible for us.

We can have a greater love of life, if we can see the larger picture. This mortal life, with all its difficulties and challenges, is just a small moment in the greater span of our eternal life. I cannot help but appreciate my life right now, when I think of all that it is preparing me for in my eternal life. Romans 8:6 reads, “For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.” Keeping a spiritual perspective brings peace and with that comes the ability to love life that much more.

I am grateful for the life that I have been given. I hope that I can show that gratitude more, so that I may be filled with greater peace and love. I know that we can love our lives and as believers in Christ, we can know that this is what he truly wants for us. I hope that more of us can seek for those things that bring real joy and happiness so that we can love our lives and live it the best we can.

0 Responses to “Do We Love Life?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


