Do We Delight in Giving Service and Doing Good Works?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of one of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and the posts in this series are an attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study. To view other posts related to this declaration, go here: Relief Society Declaration.

We are beloved spirit daughters of God, and our lives have meaning, purpose, and direction. As a worldwide sisterhood, we are united in our devotion to Jesus Christ, our Savior and Exemplar. We are women of faith, virtue, vision, and charity who:
Increase our testimonies of Jesus Christ through prayer and scripture study.
Seek spiritual strength by following the promptings of the Holy Ghost.
Dedicate ourselves to strengthening marriages, families, and homes.
Find nobility in motherhood and joy in womanhood.
Delight in service and good works.

To delight is to take great pleasure, satisfaction, or joy in something. I truly delight in several things in my life such as crossing off items on my todo list each day, making a new meal and my family enjoying it, studying the scriptures and understanding something new, hearing about something good my daughters have done, and so on. These things bring my great happiness. As disciples of Jesus Christ, and people who strive to live the gospel of Jesus Christ, there is nothing better then the joy that comes from doing what is right and good. This is not some new notion for modern times. The prophets of old wrote about this several times in the scriptures. In Psalms 40:8 we read, “I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.” When we delight in the will of God, which is service and good works, we have a love for his commandments. This concept of delighting in service and good works, causes me to think about what it is I do and create with the time that I have been blessed with. In Isaiah 55:2 it says, “Wherefore do ye spend money for that which is not bread? and your labour for that which satisfieth not? hearken diligently unto me, and eat ye that which is good, and let your soul delight itself in fatness. (emphasis added)” We should feel completely satisfied by the good that we do and seek for in this life.

I’ve thought a lot about the things that I create in my life. We are creating something every day and often times we are creating multiple things each day. I believe that even when we feel like we are doing nothing, we are creating something we should not want to create. When I choose not to do what I should be doing, I create something that Satan can use against me, such as a bad habit. We really should avoid this kind of creating, because it leads to sins of all types. We will not find true delight in sinning. In 2 Nephi 9:49 we read, “Behold, my soul abhorreth sin, and my heart delighteth in righteousness; and I will praise the holy name of my God.” Rather that creating things that support Satan and his cause, we should be creating the things that support God and his cause. We really should find delight in serving others and doing works that are good.

Our duty as covenanted saints and disciples of Christ, is to give all that we can to the service of God. In Romans 12:1 we read, “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.” When we delight in these things, we willingly give of our bodies to the service of the Lord. In Ephesians 6 we read the following:

5 Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ;
6 Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;
7 With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men:
8 Knowing that whatsoever good thing any man doeth, the same shall he receive of the Lord, whether he be bond or free.
9 And, ye masters, do the same things unto them, forbearing threatening: knowing that your Master also is in heaven; neither is there respect of persons with him.

We need to serve others, not as if we are serving them, but as if we are serving God. Know that God will bless accordingly, no matter who you are in this life. I think we should ask ourselves how God would serve this person or group? After all, “when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.” (Mosiah 2:17) If we think about doing a service for God, because we are indeed serving him when we serve others, then the effort to accomplish that service will bring the delight that comes from trying harder to accomplish something, as well as a knowledge that we are making our Father in Heaven proud of or happy with the things we do.

When we serve with God in mind and seeking for delight, I think we are more inclined to do more than would ever be expected of us. In Doctrine and Covenants 4:2 we read, “Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day.” When we give our all and don’t stop at only serving a portion of what is needed, our joy will be full at that last day when we stand before God.

Our example of good works and service will bring others closer to God. In Matthew 5:16 we read, “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” Others will be able to recognize where the light within us comes from us, when we strive to do good works. Our influence is great. In Doctrine and Covenants 64:33 we read, “Wherefore, be not weary in well-doing, for ye are laying the foundation of a great work. And out of small things proceedeth that which is great.” Great things come from every small good work we do. There is no greater satisfaction or delight that we can have, then in bringing others to God. In Doctrine and Covenants 18:15 we read, “And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!” And also in Mosiah 5:15 we read, “Therefore, I would that ye should be steadfast and immovable, always abounding in good works, that Christ, the Lord God Omnipotent, may seal you his, that you may be brought to heaven, that ye may have everlasting salvation and eternal life, through the wisdom, and power, and justice, and mercy of him who created all things, in heaven and in earth, who is God above all. Amen.” I know that when we do service and good works, others will see our light and we will seal the covenants we have made with the Lord. He will give us our salvation and eternal life, and this should give us something amazing to delight in, both in this life and in the kingdom of God.

I feel that I have a lot to improve upon in my choices every day, to get to where the Lord wants me to be with this. I think that if I can change my perspective to choose more of things that I can delight in, which would also be a service to my Father in Heaven, then I will be on the right track. I am grateful for the divine attributes of womanhood, which help me to be more mindful of the needs of others, especially if I am living worthy of the guidance of the spirit. I have had so much delight in the service and good works that I have done in my life and I look forward to improving and filling my life with even more.

0 Responses to “Do We Delight in Giving Service and Doing Good Works?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


