Notes on Patience – A Little More Each Day

Patience is something that is tested in my life every day, as I am sure it is for most of us. I thought that perhaps it would be a good idea for me to begin a study that was a bit more in depth so that I could know how to gain a self-mastery that I do not have right now. I hope that my readers will enjoy following this series of posts on patience and that it may help someone else out there, as much as it has helped me. To see more posts, check out Notes on Patience

Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof: and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit. (Ecclesiastes 7:8)

  • Patience takes work and is a self-mastery goal. The carnal nature in me, will tend towards pride and a feeling that I am right in my thoughts, feelings and beliefs. Pride leads to anger and wrath because it comes from feeling that others are wrong in what they have done or said, or even just what has been assumed about them. The attribute of patience does not typically come over night, but it is the thing that is better to strive towards. President Dieter F. Uchtdorf said the following:

    Brothers and sisters, we have to stay with it. We don’t acquire eternal life in a sprint—this is a race of endurance. We have to apply and reapply the divine gospel principles. Day after day we need to make them part of our normal life.

    Too often we approach the gospel like a farmer who places a seed in the ground in the morning and expects corn on the cob by the afternoon. When Alma compared the word of God to a seed, he explained that the seed grows into a fruit-bearing tree gradually, as a result of our “faith, and [our] diligence, and patience, and long-suffering.” It’s true that some blessings come right away: soon after we plant the seed in our hearts, it begins to swell and sprout and grow, and by this we know that the seed is good. From the very moment we set foot upon the pathway of discipleship, seen and unseen blessings from God begin to attend us.

    If I can try each day to be a bit more patient, or at least to try to be as patient as I can in that day, I know that I will be better in the end than I was in the beginning. (The Way of the Disciple)

  • Advertisements

    0 Responses to “Notes on Patience – A Little More Each Day”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        About My Scripture Study Buddy

    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
    Testimony

    Testimony

    I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

    Testimony

    NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

    Current Study

    Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

    Learn More:

    I'm a Mormon

    The Book of Mormon

    You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

    Book of Mormon Request

    Archives

    Follow me on Facebook:

    My Wonderful Husband and Artist


