Do We Study the Scriptures to Increase Our Testimonies of Jesus Christ?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of one of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and the posts in this series are an attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study. To view other posts related to this declaration, go here: Relief Society Declaration.

We are beloved spirit daughters of God, and our lives have meaning, purpose, and direction. As a worldwide sisterhood, we are united in our devotion to Jesus Christ, our Savior and Exemplar. We are women of faith, virtue, vision, and charity who:
Increase our testimonies of Jesus Christ through prayer and scripture study.

Do we study the scriptures to increase our testimonies of Jesus Christ? I was raised with the gospel in my life, but as I have learned over the years, that means nothing unless I make the attempt to gain my own testimony of it. When I read the scriptures growing up, it was purely because of a duty I had to be obedient to my teachers at one time or another. On one occasion I read the Book of Mormon because a missionary, that I thought was cute, had asked me to read it. It wasn’t until 2008, that I began studying the scriptures because I wanted to learn from them. My desire since then, has been to learn greater doctrine of the gospel. I have wanted to understand the gospel principles in a way to help me have the desire to live them at all costs. I can’t say that I have made the conscious decision to study the scriptures to gain a greater testimony of Jesus Christ, because it just seemed like that came with the study no matter what I was trying to gain. One of the things that I love about the scriptures, is that they truly do testify of Jesus Christ continually.

I don’t think that one can study the scriptures, with a real intent to be taught by the spirit, without recognizing that they are designed to teach us of Christ and the power of the atonement, which he has given to us. One of my favorite scriptures relating to this is found in 2 Nephi 25:26, where we read, “And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.” The prophets of all the ages, have taught their people of Christ.

Studying the scriptures for me gives me a greater hope in eternal life and exaltation, which are promised by God to those who faithful and make and keep their covenants. We can not attain these things if we are not made clean. In Matthew 1:21 we read, “And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.” Jesus Christ is the only way that the blessings are possible. Hebrews 5:9 says, “And being made perfect, he became the author of eternal salvation unto all them that obey him”. He truly is that author of our salvation and without a testimony of Him, we cannot receive the blessings that he made possible through the greatest sacrifice of all time. A testimony of Christ is absolutely necessary if we hope to have the rewards after this life.

I can think of no greater way to strengthen our testimonies of Christ, then to learn of Him. The place to learn more, is in the Holy word of God, found in the standard works of the gospel and have collectively been written for our days. We can gain a testimony of his hand in the lives of mortals as we study the books of the Old Testament. We can gain a testimony of his earthly ministry and resurrection as we study the New Testament. We can gain a testimony of his ministry after his resurrection as we study the Book of Mormon. We can gain a testimony of the things he expects of us as we study the Doctrine and Covenants. And we can gain a testimony of his role in the entire plan of salvation, as it has been taught through the ages, as we study the Pearl of Great Price. I am so grateful for the scriptures in my life today. I am so glad that I live in a time when they are so accessible. I love that there are so many helpful guides to aid me in understanding what is written in the scriptures. I am eternally grateful for the spirit and how it teaches me so many wonderful things. I am so glad that these wonderful writings can teach me how to be a disciple of the Lord, Jesus Christ. I know that as we study the scriptures, we can strengthen our testimonies of Jesus Christ, and have a greater hope in his atonement and saving grace.

0 Responses to “Do We Study the Scriptures to Increase Our Testimonies of Jesus Christ?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


