Are We People of Vision?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and the posts in this series are an attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study. To view other posts related to this declaration, go here: Relief Society Declaration.

We are beloved spirit daughters of God, and our lives have meaning, purpose, and direction. As a worldwide sisterhood, we are united in our devotion to Jesus Christ, our Savior and Exemplar. We are women of faith, virtue, vision . . .

The next question in this series is are we people of vision? What is a person of vision? Visions, when in reference to gospel principles, are those things revealed to us by God. In Proverbs 29:18 we read, “Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.” The footnote for the word vision in this verse, references the word revelation. When there is no revelation, the people perish. Without revelation from God, we are a people who dwindle in unbelief and sin. A person of vision is one who relies on the revelations from God.

As members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, we believe in continuing and personal revelation. There are many who believed that revelation existed in times of old, such as the revelations recorded in the Bible, but they do not believe that revelation occurs today. I cannot imagine a God, who would consistently inspire the prophets and people of ancient times, but not allow us the same privileges today. Because of continuing revelation, the prophets of today, can lead and guide us the way the Lord wants us to be led. Moreover, we believe in the ability to have personal revelation, through the gift and power of the Holy Ghost. In the Bible Dictionary, the word revelation says, “Continuous revelation from God to his saints, through the Holy Ghost or by other means, such as vision, dreams, or visitations, makes possible daily guidance along true paths and leads the faithful soul to complete and eternal salvation in the celestial kingdom.” Faithful followers of Christ, must look for this daily revelation to be able to follow the plan that God has for us. We are a people of vision, when we rely on the revelations of the Holy Ghost to guide our lives and to guide the church as a whole.

Being a person of vision, isn’t just allowing the spirit to reveal things to us. It is to seek for that guidance of the spirit. We are promised in the scriptures that we can receive those things we ask for in faith. In Matthew 7 we read the following:

7 Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:
8 For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.

The key is to seek in faith, with a true desire not only for the answer, but to follow that answer. To be a person of vision, we must make the choice to follow and learn from the revelation we are given. In the most recent general conference of LDS church, Elder Richard G. Scott spoke about revelation. He said, “When it is for the Lord’s purposes, He can bring anything to our remembrance. That should not weaken our determination to record impressions of the Spirit. Inspiration carefully recorded shows God that His communications are sacred to us. Recording will also enhance our ability to recall revelation. Such recording of direction of the Spirit should be protected from loss or intrusion by others.” It is important for us to actively proceed with revelation given to us, and recording those things is a way to do that. Otherwise, these thoughts will fade away and we will not benefit from revelation given to us. When we follow and learn from these the things that God reveals to us, we are given greater opportunity for learning and growth. In 2 Nephi 28:30 we read, “For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little; and blessed are those who hearken unto my precepts, and lend an ear unto my counsel, for they shall learn wisdom; for unto him that receiveth I will give more; and from them that shall say, We have enough, from them shall be taken away even that which they have.” I have truly experienced these things in my own life. I have tested this and have found that I can seek for an answer or for help and receive an answer at the time that is just right for me to receive it, meaning the Lord’s time not my own. Then when I have acted upon that answer, I have been blessed with further revelation and guidance in my life, which is always beyond what I could have expected. I am so grateful for the spirit and the opportunity to be a woman of vision.

0 Responses to “Are We People of Vision?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


