What is the Direction of Our Lives?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and the posts in this series are an attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study. To view other posts related to this declaration, go here: Relief Society Declaration.

We are beloved spirit daughters of God, and our lives have meaning, purpose, and direction.

According to the first line of the declaration above, daughters of God have direction of their lives. What is that direction? In life, we have choices. Each choice can lead us one of two ways spiritually, either towards our Father in Heaven, or towards Satan. I love listening to Mary Ellen Edmunds and one of the things she talks about is the arrow of a religious life. I like her analogy, which basically says that we can be doing things on one of the three lines of an arrow. The first line is the center line, which isn’t bad exactly, but doesn’t get us anywhere. The second is the line of the arrow point which leads us down to the places we don’t want to go. The third line of the arrow is that which leads us up to our goal of returning to our Father in Heaven. I may not have her words just right, but the idea still applies. Really, we choose between two directions in life; up or down, good or bad, towards God or Satan. When we are taking any path, we have to eventually choose one or the other.

As a daughter of God, I choose to follow the direction that He has given me to follow him. If I choose anything else, I am not living as a daughter of God, but rather a daughter of the devil. I don’t know about you, but I really don’t want that second title for myself. The direction that God has given us, is precise and direct, while anything else can fall into the directions of Satan. We can find that direction in the scriptures and in talks by leaders of Christ’s church on earth today. We are given that direction in the teachings of our Savior, Jesus Christ. In John 14:6 we read, “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” He is the way. He is the direction. We should look to His example. 2 Nephi 31:16 says, “. . . I know by this that unless a man shall endure to the end, in following the example of the Son of the living God, he cannot be saved.” We need to study his life and mission as they are written in the scriptures. We can also learn more of His way, by attending His holy temples. In Isaiah 2:3 we read, “And many people shall go and say, Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the God of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths. . .”.

He, even Jesus Christ, is the one source that we can look to for the path to follow. In Matthew 7, the Lord taught the following:

13 Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:
14 Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.

His path is that strait and narrow way. He has taught us to live a good life, to repent of our wrongs, to come unto Him through baptism by water and the gift of the Holy Ghost, and how to endure to the end in faith. In 1 Nephi 10:18 we read, “For he is the same yesterday, today, and forever; and the way is prepared for all men from the foundation of the world, if it so be that they repent and come unto him.” Also 2 Nephi 31 teaches all of these things:

18 And then are ye in this strait and narrow path which leads to eternal life; yea, ye have entered in by the gate; ye have done according to the commandments of the Father and the Son; and ye have received the Holy Ghost, which witnesses of the Father and the Son, unto the fulfilling of the promise which he hath made, that if ye entered in by the way ye should receive.
19 And now, my beloved brethren, after ye have gotten into this strait and narrow path, I would ask if all is done? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; for ye have not come thus far save it were by the word of Christ with unshaken faith in him, relying wholly upon the merits of him who is mighty to save.
20 Wherefore, ye must press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope, and a love of God and of all men. Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life.
21 And now, behold, my beloved brethren, this is the way; and there is none other way nor name given under heaven whereby man can be saved in the kingdom of God. And now, behold, this is the doctrine of Christ, and the only and true doctrine of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost, which is one God, without end. Amen.

There is a saving power that comes from study of all that the Savior teaches in the scriptures because as He taught the Nephites, “Behold I am the light; I have set an example for you (3 Nephi 18:16).”

We can also be given the direction personally, through the inspiration of the Holy Ghost in our lives. We can ask God for this personal direction. In Alma 37:37 we read, “Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.” We should do our best to recognize the hand of God in all that we do. Proverbs 3:6 reads, “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” Acknowledging God shows Him and others in our lives, that we believe in Him and recognize He has the power to do marvelous things for us. When we do this we humble ourselves and open the door for God to work in our lives. In Doctrine and Covenants 112:10 it says, “Be thou humble; and the Lord thy God shall lead thee by the hand, and give thee answer to thy prayers.” The idea that the Lord would guide me personally touches me deeply. I can have that personal guide, if I am willing to acknowledge that He is my Lord, my Redeemer, and the only way for my salvation.

Moroni 7:48 says the following:

Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons [and daughters] of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen.

I know that the Savior has marked the path for us to follow. He is the Savior of all mankind and it is through Him that I can become a true disciple and daughter of God. He is the direction that is in my life and can be the direction in the lives of all the children of God. His example is the way to go. I hope that my testimony can be added to the many that have gone before, I know that the Savior will lead the faithful to eternal life and exaltation. I have hope in the blessings that come from living as He lived. I know that He came to this earth, lived His perfect life, and gave Himself as a sacrifice for all mankind, so that we could become like Him and our Father in Heaven. I am grateful for the guidance of the spirit in my own life, and the direction it gives me, so that I may know how to follow the path the Savior has given me.

0 Responses to “What is the Direction of Our Lives?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


