How do we know we are beloved of God?

As a woman in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), I am a member of the largest women’s organization in the world. This group is called the Relief Society. Several years ago, a declaration was written for the Relief Society and I would like to attempt to apply this declaration to my life more. In this attempt I will be breaking down the parts of it into questions that I would like to try to answer through study.

The declaration begins “we are beloved spirit daughters of God”. My first question is how do we know we are beloved of God? This is a big one. The word beloved means to be dearly loved. It is used often as a term of endearment, which is a completely personal and real love to the deepest parts of our hearts and souls. Some other words connected to beloved are cherished, adored, treasured, and valued. How then, do we know that we are dearly loved, cherished, adored, treasured and valued by God?

In Deuteronomy 7:13 we read, “And he will love thee, and bless thee, and multiply thee: he will also bless the fruit of thy womb, and the fruit of thy land, thy corn, and thy wine, and thine oil, the increase of thy kine, and the flocks of thy sheep, in the land which he sware unto thy fathers to give thee.” This was a promise given to those who believed in God and obeyed the commandments. The blessings we receive are an evidence of the Love of God for us. One of these blessings is life itself. God has given us the gift of mortality to learn and grow. He wants us to become like him because he loves us. Another blessings, is the wonderful creations around us each day. God shows his love for us, in the beauty of the world. Beautiful things bring me joy, and I believe that God created these things to make us happy. When I can look at His creations and wonder in awe, I know that God loves me.

In John 3:16 we read, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” God loves us so much that he allowed His first-born Son, even Jesus Christ, to suffer and die for us. In Doctrine and Covenants 138 we read the following:

2 And reflecting upon the great atoning sacrifice that was made by the Son of God, for the redemption of the world;
3 And the great and wonderful love made manifest by the Father and the Son in the coming of the Redeemer into the world;
4 That through his atonement, and by obedience to the principles of the gospel, mankind might be saved.

I believe that this is true. The sacrifice of the Son of God, is a manifestation of the love of God for each of us.

One of the best evidences of His love for me, is the companionship of the Holy Ghost. I believe that this is one of the greatest gift that God can give us in this life. The Holy Ghost is a comforter when times are difficult, a protector when we are faced with temptation and when physical harm may come to us or our loved ones, a teacher when we are seeking for truth, and so much more. When I feel the inspiration of the Holy Ghost, or when others are inspired to do something for me, I know that God loves me and is mindful of me.

The scriptures teach us that God chastens those he loves. In Doctrine and Covenants 95:1 we read, “Verily, thus saith the Lord unto you whom I love, and whom I love I also chasten that their sins may be forgiven, for with the chastisement I prepare a way for their deliverance in all things out of temptation, and I have loved you—”. We are chastised so that we will become the best us we can be. We are chastised so that we will remember the Lord and repent of our sins. We will only be able to return to be with God again, if we make repentance a part of our lives. Therefore being chastised is a way that God can show us He wants us to return to be with Him because he loves us.

In Alma 24:14 we read, “And the great God has had mercy on us, and made these things known unto us that we might not perish; yea, and he has made these things known unto us beforehand, because he loveth our souls as well as he loveth our children; therefore, in his mercy he doth visit us by his angels, that the plan of salvation might be made known unto us as well as unto future generations.” We can know that we are loved of God, because he has given us the gospel. The restoration of the fullness of the gospel, and the ability to have it freely if we will seek it out, is evidence of his love for us. Elder M. Russell Ballard, of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, said the following in the April 1988 General Conference:

God expresses his love for us by providing the guidance we need to progress and reach our potential. Perhaps a simple story will illustrate this point. Recently, a young man purchased a used computer but could not get it to work properly. Soon he became discouraged. His temper grew short and he threatened the inanimate object with painful destruction unless its performance improved. A wise father intervened and took his son to a local vendor, where they obtained an instruction manual. After all, who would know more about a complex computer than the person or company that created it? Who would know most about its capacity and potential? Who would better know the safeguards required to avoid damaging or ruining this fine instrument? Soon the boy enjoyed the full potential of his computer by working within the guidelines given in the instruction book provided by its creator.

Likewise in our lives, he who knows most about us, our potential, and our eternal possibilities has given us divine counsel and commandments in his instruction manuals—the holy scriptures. When we understand and follow these instructions, our lives have purpose and meaning. We learn that our Maker loves us and desires our happiness.

His desire for us to learn so that we can find happiness, through the gospel, is evidence of His love for us. I believe that there is no greater love that we can feel than can be found by learning and following the gospel.

President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Second Counselor in the First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has said, “[God] loves us because He is filled with an infinite measure of holy, pure, and indescribable love. We are important to God not because of our résumé but because we are His children. He loves every one of us, even those who are flawed, rejected, awkward, sorrowful, or broken. God’s love is so great that He loves even the proud, the selfish, the arrogant, and the wicked.” (October 2009 General Conference Address, The Love of God.) I can know that no matter where I may be in life, or what my flaws may be at that time, God loves me.

Finally, I believe that there was a time when God himself experienced a mortal life to become what he is today. Therefore, I think the love we experience as mortals represents a small portion of the love he has for us. I think of the love of a father in this life. We are His children and He has a natural and eternal love for us unlike anything we have ever known. I think also of the special love a father has for his daughters. I have experienced the feelings of being Daddy’s little girl a few times in my life and that love is overwhelming. As a daughter of my Father in Heaven, I know that he looks at me as his little girl. He wants nothing but the best for me, but he knows he will have to let me do things on my own and make my own mistakes so that I can learn. He can see the woman I will become in the eternities and he gently guides my hand so that I can find my way there. Another love of a father, is the love towards those who bear his children. I believe that every mother in mortality works with our Father in Heaven to bring children into this world. This is not to say that we are all mortal children of God the way that the Savior was, but that we are all made up of a spirit born of God and a body born of earthly parents. I believe that God has a special love for all those who give of their bodies to allow His spirit children to be born into this world. I know that as a child, a daughter, and a mother, God has a great love for me. I know that he loves all his children. I know that we can feel that love, if we seek for Him.

1 Response to “How do we know we are beloved of God?”


  1. 1 kathleen everts January 24, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Thanks for sharing your study buddy. Lately I’ve been using my prayer and study to learn to better know and feel Heavenly Father’s love for me. I have experienced a great outpouring of His Spirit as I try throughout each day to hold in my thoughts, through prayer, the knowledge that He loves me independent of my performance and that I have great value to Him. This has been a time of real growth for me. I’d just like to add my testimony to yours that He loves all His children perfectly and that feeling that love is the key to developing greater faith, hope and charity.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


