Genesis Chapter 13

At this point in the book of Genesis, Abram (Abraham) has been guided by the Lord, to the land of Egypt, where his family could have refuge from the famine in the land. This chapter begins:

1 And Abram went up out of Egypt, he, and his wife, and all that he had, and Lot with him, into the south.
2 And Abram was very rich in cattle, in silver, and in gold.
3 And he went on his journeys from the south even to Beth-el, unto the place where his tent had been at the beginning, between Beth-el and Hai;
4 Unto the place of the altar, which he had made there at the first: and there Abram called on the name of the Lord.

Their family left Egypt after it was discovered that Sarai was Abram’s wife and not his sister. They returned, with all their many belongings, to the same area where Abram had built an altar to pray (see Genesis chapter 12). Again, he prayed to the Lord, in the area which was his promised land from God. The footnote in verse 4, references scriptures in the book of Abraham, which tell us that he did not simply pray. In Abraham 1:2 we read, “And, finding there was greater happiness and peace and rest for me, I sought for the blessings of the fathers, and the right whereunto I should be ordained to administer the same; having been myself a follower of righteousness, desiring also to be one who possessed great knowledge, and to be a greater follower of righteousness, and to possess a greater knowledge, and to be a father of many nations, a prince of peace, and desiring to receive instructions, and to keep the commandments of God, I became a rightful heir, a High Priest, holding the right belonging to the fathers.” He wanted to know what the will of God for himself. He wanted to keep the commandments and live more righteously. He had a desire to be a better man and therefore be deserving of the blessings promised to him. This is a great example of what we should be seeking for in our own lives. What can we do to be more righteous and more deserving of our own promised blessings from God?

5 And Lot also, which went with Abram, had flocks, and herds, and tents.
6 And the land was not able to bear them, that they might dwell together: for their substance was great, so that they could not dwell together.
7 And there was a strife between the herdmen of Abram’s cattle and the herdmen of Lot’s cattle: and the Canaanite and the Perizzite dwelled then in the land.
8 And Abram said unto Lot, Let there be no strife, I pray thee, between me and thee, and between my herdmen and thy herdmen; for we be brethren.
9 Is not the whole land before thee? separate thyself, I pray thee, from me: if thou wilt take the left hand, then I will go to the right; or if thou depart to the right hand, then I will go to the left.
10 And Lot lifted up his eyes, and beheld all the plain of Jordan, that it was well watered every where, before the Lord destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah, even as the garden of the Lord, like the land of Egypt, as thou comest unto Zoar.
11 Then Lot chose him all the plain of Jordan; and Lot journeyed east: and they separated themselves the one from the other.
12 Abram dwelled in the land of Canaan, and Lot dwelled in the cities of the plain, and pitched his tent toward Sodom.
13 But the men of Sodom were wicked and sinners before the Lord exceedingly.

Abram’s nephew was Lot, who had traveled with him from Ur to Egypt and then out of Egypt again. There were not able to continue to live together because they both had been greatly blessed in numbers of animals. There was contentions between those that were with them over the herds of animals. Abram did not want them to fight, so he suggested that they each separate from one another, which they did. Lot took the land of Jordan and Abram took the land of Canaan. In Jordan was the land of Sodom, which was already a wicked area. Lot’s family turned towards the wicked city of Sodom.

14 And the Lord said unto Abram, after that Lot was separated from him, Lift up now thine eyes, and look from the place where thou art northward, and southward, and eastward, and westward:
15 For all the land which thou seest, to thee will I give it, and to thy seed for ever.
16 And I will make thy seed as the dust of the earth: so that if a man can number the dust of the earth, then shall thy seed also be numbered.
17 Arise, walk through the land in the length of it and in the breadth of it; for I will give it unto thee.
18 Then Abram removed his tent, and came and dwelt in the plain of Mamre, which is in Hebron, and built there an altar unto the Lord.

The Lord promises Abram all of the land he could see, for himself and his family forever. He also promises him that he will have a great posterity, which would be number as the dust of the earth. His descendants would become the house of Israel, which continues to grow on the earth even today. The promises made to Abram or Abraham, are eternal priesthood blessings from God. Any who are members of the house of Israel, either by blood or by taking upon the name of Christ, can receive the same eternal blessings of seed forever and a promised land. If we want to be a partaker of these blessings, then we need to make and keep our own sacred covenants with God, as he has commanded. I am so grateful for the hope in these blessings. I am glad that they give me a reason to live a righteous life.

0 Responses to “Genesis Chapter 13”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


