Having the Fullness of the Gospel

Today, I was reading the words of the prophet Abinadi (see Mosiah 13), which he spoke to the wicked King Noah and his priests. This chapter makes me more grateful for the fullness of the gospel in my life. Abinadi teaches them that the law is nothing without the atonement, but also that without understanding the law we cannot receive the blessings of the atonement. In verse 11 he teaches them, “And now I read unto you the remainder of the commandments of God, for I perceive that they are not written in your hearts; I perceive that ye have studied and taught iniquity the most part of your lives.” We must write the words on our hearts. We must be willing to give the laws of God a strict priority in our lives. They must be held sacred and dear to us as anything else which we allow near our hearts.

Then in verse 28 we read, “And moreover, I say unto you, that salvation doth not come by the law alone; and were it not for the atonement, which God himself shall make for the sins and iniquities of his people, that they must unavoidably perish, notwithstanding the law of Moses.” Knowing the laws does nothing for us, if we do not believe in the Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. We can follow the commandments all our days, but if we don’t understand them fully we cannot benefit from our righteousness. The fullness of the gospel, teaches us that Christ is the Savior and that he fulfilled the law of Moses. We now should be living His law, which is the higher law and the law which will gain us access into the kingdom of God. Knowing His law and knowing Him, is the way to return to God again. I am so glad that I have this knowledge and I hope and pray that I will improve and become the righteous woman that God knows I am capable of becoming, so that I can live with Him again someday.

0 Responses to “Having the Fullness of the Gospel”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


