Overcome to Receive

Last week I didn’t do much of posting here, because I was asked to teach the lesson in our Sunday School class. This lesson was on four chapters in the book of Revelations. Revelations is a difficult book to teach about, because of its symbolism. However, I enjoyed the challenge a lot. They key for me, is to try to find the message that John was writing, and not to focus too much on the names of the places, or the deep doctrinal stuff found there. Those things will come to me after I have gained a simple understanding of these chapters.

The thing that I got most out of this lesson, was that we all will have something or multiple things in this life that we will need to overcome. The list of things that come from these chapters included not being willing to give service and love, fearing our trials or the things others may say or do when we stand for truth and righteousness, pride, greed, immorality, apathy, and so on. Satan, who we are currently fighting against every day, knows which of these things we struggle with the most. However, we have the Savior on our side.

Through His atonement and saving power, we have the power to overcome. When we choose to accept His power and atonement in our lives, we will overcome. Then we can receive the amazing promised blessings, which John writes about. We can live with God again, we can have our sins forgiven, we can achieve salvation and become like our Father in Heaven, and ultimately receive all the blessings that He has to give. What an encouraging and powerful message this is in my life. I find a great deal of hope in this lesson and it gives me the push I need to continue trying to live a righteous life and stand firm in the face of all the temptations and trials that Satan places in my path.

0 Responses to “Overcome to Receive”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


