Continual Call to Repentance

This morning I read the book of Jarom, which is one chapter in the Book of Mormon. I think the majority of this chapter teaches us that finding strength in the Lord, will bring us prosperity and protection from our enemies. It is a confirmation of the promise given to Nephi when they reached the promise land. This promise said that if they would be righteous they would prosper in the land. The thing that stuck out to me the most today, is the need for a continual call to repentance.

The Nephites at this time, were living righteously and prospering because of it. Jarom writes the following:

10 And it came to pass that the prophets of the Lord did threaten the people of Nephi, according to the word of God, that if they did not keep the commandments, but should fall into transgression, they should be destroyed from off the face of the land.
11 Wherefore, the prophets, and the priests, and the teachers, did labor diligently, exhorting with all long-suffering the people to diligence; teaching the law of Moses, and the intent for which it was given; persuading them to look forward unto the Messiah, and believe in him to come as though he already was. And after this manner did they teach them.
12 And it came to pass that by so doing they kept them from being destroyed upon the face of the land; for they did prick their hearts with the word, continually stirring them up unto repentance.

In order for the righteous to continue in righteousness, they needed constant reminders of the commandments, the consequences of disobeying the commandments, and the need to repent. I think that we can get in a place where we feel like we know enough of what not to do, and we have heard all about repentance, so we don’t need to focus on those parts of the gospel. This is not so. If we want to continue in righteousness, then we need to listen every time the prophet and apostles speak. We need constant reminders of the ways that Satan is trying to trap us. We need our hearts to be pricked by the word of God, so that we will remember our need for repentance. We cannot become complacent or stagnant in the gospel. We need to be working continually to remain worthy of the blessings that God has promised.

0 Responses to “Continual Call to Repentance”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


