Genesis Chapter 7

Noah was commanded to build the ark and to preserve his family and animals during the coming floods. The Lord’s instructions to Noah continue:

1 And the Lord said unto Noah, Come thou and all thy house into the ark; for thee have I seen righteous before me in this generation.
2 Of every clean beast thou shalt take to thee by sevens, the male and his female: and of beasts that are not clean by two, the male and his female.
3 Of fowls also of the air by sevens, the male and the female; to keep seed alive upon the face of all the earth.
4 For yet seven days, and I will cause it to rain upon the earth forty days and forty nights; and every living substance that I have made will I destroy from off the face of the earth.
5 And Noah did according unto all that the Lord commanded him.
6 And Noah was six hundred years old when the flood of waters was upon the earth.

The time came, when the ark was prepared and the Lord commanded Noah to enter the ark. I don’t exactly know what the difference between a clean beast and not clean, but my best guess would be that those which were clean were the animals that were needed for things like food and sacrifice. Then it makes perfect sense that they would need more of them, because they were going to be on the ark for a while. I am sure that God also had in mind how long each species would survive after they had been able to wander on the earth again. Noah was told at this time, that the rain would come in a week and that it would continue to rain for forty days and nights.

7 And Noah went in, and his sons, and his wife, and his sons’ wives with him, into the ark, because of the waters of the flood.
8 Of clean beasts, and of beasts that are not clean, and of fowls, and of every thing that creepeth upon the earth,
9 There went in two and two unto Noah into the ark, the male and the female, as God had commanded Noah.
10 And it came to pass after seven days, that the waters of the flood were upon the earth.

Noah did not do all this alone. He had his family with him, who all were righteous and obedient to the Lord’s commandments. We have no record of murmuring as we do with the family of Nephi in the Book of Mormon. The family of Noah must have been really striving to do what was right by the Lord, and I imagine that they were a strong and unified family. I know how I feel on days of rain and the cold and darkness that come along with it. For me, this experience would have been a true test of my faith. I am sure that I would have been relying heavily on the comfort of the Lord and the hope of what was to come. Noah and his family were good examples of faith, obedience, and endurance through difficult trials before, during, and after the floods. His family are a great example of strictly following the prophet and being blessed greatly for it.

11 In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the second month, the seventeenth day of the month, the same day were all the fountains of the great deep broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened.
12 And the rain was upon the earth forty days and forty nights.
13 In the selfsame day entered Noah, and Shem, and Ham, and Japheth, the sons of Noah, and Noah’s wife, and the three wives of his sons with them, into the ark;
14 They, and every beast after his kind, and all the cattle after their kind, and every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth after his kind, and every fowl after his kind, every bird of every sort.
15 And they went in unto Noah into the ark, two and two of all flesh, wherein is the breath of life.
16 And they that went in, went in male and female of all flesh, as God had commanded him: and the Lord shut him in.
17 And the flood was forty days upon the earth; and the waters increased, and bare up the ark, and it was lift up above the earth.
18 And the waters prevailed, and were increased greatly upon the earth; and the ark went upon the face of the waters.
19 And the waters prevailed exceedingly upon the earth; and all the high hills, that were under the whole heaven, were covered.
20 Fifteen cubits upward did the waters prevail; and the mountains were covered.
21 And all flesh died that moved upon the earth, both of fowl, and of cattle, and of beast, and of every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth, and every man:
22 All in whose nostrils was the breath of life, of all that was in the dry land, died.
23 And every living substance was destroyed which was upon the face of the ground, both man, and cattle, and the creeping things, and the fowl of the heaven; and they were destroyed from the earth: and Noah only remained alive, and they that were with him in the ark.
24 And the waters prevailed upon the earth an hundred and fifty days.

It rained just as the Lord said it would. This wasn’t just some light rain. It was a downpour. The verse says the water was broken up or burst open. I remember the heavy sheets of rain that came down during El Nino a few years back. The rain was so heavy that you couldn’t see ahead of you. That was nothing in comparison to the rain that came during the time of Noah. It lifted the ark off the ground and the ground was flooded and washed clean. Forty days and nights were not the end of this experience for Noah and his family. After the rain stopped, the waters remained on the earth, and everything was covered for another 150 days. There was nothing left living aside from those that were inside the ark that the Lord had shut up for them. That means that at this point they had been in the ark for over 6 months. I cannot imagine they could have gone through this without their faith. I am so glad to have their example and to be able to recognize the amazing blessings that I have in my life. I am glad that I have been blessed to be a member of the posterity of Noah, and that I have a knowledge of the scriptures to learn and grow from.

0 Responses to “Genesis Chapter 7”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


