A Charge From the Book of Mormon

In preparation for our Relief Society lesson this week, I read the Ensign article titled “A Witness“, by President Henry B. Eyring. This talk is a really good one about the charge that every member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has been given. We find this charge in the words of the Book of Mormon. The charge has to do with being a charitable witness who endures to the end. The two ideas I am taking away from this article are first, we each have a way that is fitting for us to show our charity for others. I believe that charity, in its purest form is how we show the love and care we have for others. Not all of us do this the same way, but we have each been blessed with the ability to have charity. I think that I’ve always thought there was an exact way that everyone was to be charitable, but I am now thinking that it really can and probably should be different for each of us. Part of the learning process in this life, is figuring out how we as individuals can be more like the Savior in our own charity for others. Now is the time to discover how I can use the gifts and talents that have been given to me, to be charitable to others.

The second idea, is that we need to be ready each day to do the work of the Lord. This requires having a prayer in our heart and mind as much as possible, that we will be ready and willing to do the will of the Lord. It means being worthy at all times, so that we can hear the whisperings of the spirit. It means getting out of bed each day and getting dressed and prepared to do something, even if we don’t have anything planned. It means recognizing the needs of others around us and more. It is a charge to be alert, attentive, willing, and able to be a disciple of Jesus Christ, at all times. This is something that I feel I fall short in most days of my life, but we all have things we need to work on, and this is one of mine. I am grateful for the messages of the general authorities of the church, specifically the apostles and prophets of the Lord. Their words offer me great insight and encouragement in my own life. It is such a blessing to live in a time when these words are so readily available to all people. I hope that I will remember these things and try harder to have more charity and be ready to do the Lord’s work more often.

0 Responses to “A Charge From the Book of Mormon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


