What I Want to Remember

As I was studying in the Book of Mormon, I came across the following scripture in 2 Nephi 9:51.

Wherefore, do not spend money for that which is of no worth, nor your labor for that which cannot satisfy. Hearken diligently unto me, and remember the words which I have spoken; and come unto the Holy One of Israel, and feast upon that which perisheth not, neither can be corrupted, and let your soul delight in fatness.

This is something that I think about often these days. I love listening to Mary Ellen Edmunds, who gives great inspiring and uplifting talks and firesides. One of the things I remember her talking about, is how she chooses what kind of entertainment she is going to have in her life. She says something to the effect that, she does not want to watch, hear, or read anything that she does not want to remember. Just as this scripture says, we should not spend our money or time and energy on anything that is not of worth or will not satisfy us. I am trying to put this into practice into my own life. When an option comes up to participate in doing, watching, listening to, or reading anything, I ponder over whether or not it is worthwhile to do so. If I do not want to keep that thing in my mind as a memory, than it is not worth participating in. Instead, I would rather do those things that I know will bring me joy, uplift my soul, and draw me closer to God. I am grateful for my memories, but there are some that I wish could be completely erased from my mind. It is difficult at times when someone will say one word, or I will see one image and the memories of that thing I wish I could forget, come flooding back into my mind. I wish that I used this practice years ago, because I know I would be happier now for it. Likewise, there are things that I wish I had thought twice about before buying or wasting my time with it. I hope that more people will think of the value of their time and energy and realize what an impact even the smallest decisions have on our lives.

0 Responses to “What I Want to Remember”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


