Study of the Book of Mormon

For my next Ensign article study for the Celestial University, I decided to read the article “How to Study the Book of Mormon”, by Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles (October 2011 Ensign). It is a really good article which gives three areas of focus for why we should make studying the Book of Mormon a lifetime pursuit. These were because it is the keystone of our religion, it is written for our day and it helps us to come closer to God. I believe that these three reasons are completely accurate and I have found that as I make study of the Book of Mormon a priority in my life, I have been blessed with a stronger testimony and a greater faith and hope in my every day life.

There are several things that this article makes me ponder about, but the two points in particular that I want to focus on are the tips that he gives. First, I think that I would like to get another copy of the book of mormon and study through with a specific topic in mind to mark. I wouldn’t mind having a copy designated as my faith copy or my copy focused on Jesus Christ. I haven’t done this in the past because I tend to let my study get away with myself and I have trouble focusing on one topic in particular, but I think that this would be a great thing to do in the future.

Second, I want to continually ask myself why this scripture was written for me. Why does the Lord want me to know this story and how does it apply to my own life. I know that these words are the word of God written for us in these latter-days of the earth. Since that is the case, ever verse should be applicable to me in some way and I just need to pay attention enough to find it. I know that if I do this, my life will be better. I am so grateful for the Book of Mormon and the great lessons and guidance it gives me in my life.

0 Responses to “Study of the Book of Mormon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


