Continually Holding to the Rod

For the next Ensign article towards my Celestial University goal, I decided to read “Lehi’s Dream: Holding Fast to the Rod”, by Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles (October 2011 Ensign). This article is a great reference for some further understanding of Lehi’s Vision found in the book of 1 Nephi. I have always enjoyed trying to apply this dream to my own life and see where I am standing in my own life. Elder Bednar explains three groups of people who are heading on or away from paths in this vision. I find that through the history of my life, I have been one of those in the group which cling to the rod when it seems convenient, meaning I have previously only studied the scriptures and really listened to the words of the prophets, when I have felt it fit into my life. I was quick to follow the crowds of people who were leaving the right path to the easy road toward that great and spacious building. My hold was only occasional at times and I could not hang onto the blessings that I knew I needed in my life. One of the points that I get from this article is that I need to continually hold fast to the word of God. I can honestly say that I am holding fast to it now. I hope that I will be constant in this for the rest of my days. I can sense the joy of blessings of eternal life, which I know will come my way if I can endure. To gain these blessings, I have a goal to read the scriptures and words of the modern day prophets consistently for the remainder of my life. I know that if I can keep this goal, I will eventually be able to receive the blessings of eternal life and salvation through my Savior, Jesus Christ.

The second point is that I do not want to heed the mocking voices of the world around me. Even those voices of people who I love and admire can draw my attention and focus away from what I know is the most important. I do not want to live in a way where I may think or act like I am ashamed of the gospel. I want to stand tall in my choices to do what is right according to the Lord. I want to remain on the path that God has paved for me, and that the Savior has walked upon. I know that as my testimony grows, I am becoming firmer in my beliefs and therefore have the confidence to be happy being different from the world. I love this gospel and I love choosing the right. I am proud to say that I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

0 Responses to “Continually Holding to the Rod”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


