The Old Testament

I am a bit excited and nervous to start this study of The Old Testament. Why? Well, this book has always seemed like a difficult one for me to remember and understand. I am hoping that this time, I will gain a clearer understanding and that it will help in my grasp of the entire gospel of Jesus Christ. I am sure that as I study this, I will be looking to the rest of the standard works for clarification and understanding.

I will be studying the King James Version of the Bible (including LDS footnotes), along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen. There is probably no need for introduction, but I’ll go ahead and quote the Bible Dictionary. The Bible is “the collection of writings that contain the records of divine revelation. . . . The Bible is the work of many prophets and inspired writers acting under the influence of the same Holy Spirit; but at the same time it came into being “in many parts and in many modes,” by a gradual growth extending over many centuries, and we can see in the books themselves evidence of the varied conditions of time and place and thought under which they were composed. (See Bible Dictionary, “Bible“)” There are two parts to the Christian bible, the Old and New Testament. The Old Testament is the first portion of the Holy Bible, which covers the history of the people of the Lord from the beginning of the creation. I think that it mostly has to do with the covenant people of the Lord, who had been given the laws of God. In particular, most of these people lived what we know as the law of Moses.

I am so grateful that ancient records of the prophets and people of old were preserved for our day. I know that there is great truths to be found in The Old Testament. I know that the word of the Lord is to be found within its pages and I am thrilled to be taking some time to study and ponder them.

0 Responses to “The Old Testament”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


