Built After the Manner of the Lord

Nephi was commanded of the Lord to build a boat. In 1 Nephi 18, he tells of the process of workmanship on the boat.

2 Now I, Nephi, did not work the timbers after the manner which was learned by men, neither did I build the ship after the manner of men; but I did build it after the manner which the Lord had shown unto me; wherefore, it was not after the manner of men.
3 And I, Nephi, did go into the mount oft, and I did pray oft unto the Lord; wherefore the Lord showed unto me great things.
4 And it came to pass that after I had finished the ship, according to the word of the Lord, my brethren beheld that it was good, and that the workmanship thereof was exceedingly fine; wherefore, they did humble themselves again before the Lord.

As I read this today, I was brought to reflecting on the things we are commanded to build in our own lives. We are told to build our own testimony, so that we can be found immovable in our faith. We are to build a family that can be eternal. And we are taught to build a home that can be our own temple in this world and a refuge from the filth and hardships of the outside world. We are given the tools to build these things, just as Nephi was given the tools to build the boat. He was not directly handed some perfect tool, but he was told by the Lord how to make the tool that would be perfect for him to use. We are not simply handed the tools, but it requires work and study on our part to find the perfect tools. These tools are found in the scriptures. With these perfect tools, we can build ourselves, our families, and our homes. When we use the tools the Lord has given us, and with the guidance of the Lord, which Nephi also relied on heavily, we can make these things with exceedingly fine workmanship, just as Nephi did. More importantly, these things will not be after the manner of men, because they would fail us, but rather they would be after the manner of the Lord. With the products of fine workmanship, inspired by the Lord, we can weather any storm towards our own promised land.

0 Responses to “Built After the Manner of the Lord”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


