Come Unto Christ

I studied 1 Nephi chapter 11 today, which tells of a vision revealed to Nephi after he prayed and pondered to know what his father knew. In this vision, Nephi receives answers about the interpretation of the things his father had seen. One of those things is a “tree whose fruit was desirable to make one happy” (see 1 Nephi 8:10). Nephi sees this same tree in verse 8 of chapter 11 and in response to a desire to know the interpretation, the angel shows him the Son of God.

12 And it came to pass that he said unto me: Look! And I looked as if to look upon him, and I saw him not; for he had gone from before my presence.
13 And it came to pass that I looked and beheld the great city of Jerusalem, and also other cities. And I beheld the city of Nazareth; and in the city of Nazareth I beheld a virgin, and she was exceedingly fair and white.
14 And it came to pass that I saw the heavens open; and an angel came down and stood before me; and he said unto me: Nephi, what beholdest thou?
15 And I said unto him: A virgin, most beautiful and fair above all other virgins.
16 And he said unto me: Knowest thou the condescension of God?
17 And I said unto him: I know that he loveth his children; nevertheless, I do not know the meaning of all things.
18 And he said unto me: Behold, the virgin whom thou seest is the mother of the Son of God, after the manner of the flesh.
19 And it came to pass that I beheld that she was carried away in the Spirit; and after she had been carried away in the Spirit for the space of a time the angel spake unto me, saying: Look!
20 And I looked and beheld the virgin again, bearing a child in her arms.
21 And the angel said unto me: Behold the Lamb of God, yea, even the Son of the Eternal Father! Knowest thou the meaning of the tree which thy father saw?
22 And I answered him, saying: Yea, it is the love of God, which sheddeth itself abroad in the hearts of the children of men; wherefore, it is the most desirable above all things.

When I read this today, I think my understanding went deeper than it has before. I think I have just read the description of what the images have meant, but not really thought about what the angel shows Nephi to get to that understanding. Yes, the tree represents the love of God. We, as children of God, should desire the love of God above all other things, and therefore we should do what we can to partake of it, just as Lehi did in his vision. The love of God will bring us true happiness and joy, which we cannot get from anything else. But the understanding should go even deeper. The love of God, is the Son of God. God loves us so very much, that he sent His Beloved Son to live and die for all mankind. We partake of the love of God, when we come unto Christ and partake of all that He has to offer us. In verse 25 it says, “And it came to pass that I beheld that the rod of iron, which my father had seen, was the word of God, which led to the fountain of living waters, or to the tree of life; which waters are a representation of the love of God; and I also beheld that the tree of life was a representation of the love of God.” The word of God – the scriptures and teachings of the prophets – lead us to the fountain of living waters, which is also the Son of God, who gives us the gift of eternal life and salvation.

I want to cherish the word of God in my life, so that I can come to know my Savior, Jesus Christ. I want to have the power of His saving grace in my life. I too want to share this desirable fruit with those whom I love, just as Lehi wanted to share with his family. I can only do this if I take the time to continue to study the gospel and do my best to live obedient to the commandments of God.

0 Responses to “Come Unto Christ”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


