Two Types of Faith

Faith is a Sunrise

In Sunday School, we talked about a quote by one of the general authorities (I’m not sure which one), which mentioned that there was two types of faith. To me, the first type is the one that requires no power on my part, such as faith that the sun will rise each day. I have faith that the sun continues to go through its daily cycle even if I can’t see it. This faith is one in which I am acted upon. The second type is the faith that gives power. The faith of action in my life, which can cause things to happen. This faith is one in which I act. A lot of my personal life right now is depending on this second type of faith. I do not know what the future holds and I really have no way to plan what my life will be like in the months ahead. I know the goals I have and the things that I think the Lord wants for me. In 1 Nephi 9 we read the following:

5 Wherefore, the Lord hath commanded me to make these plates for a wise purpose in him, which purpose I know not.
6 But the Lord knoweth all things from the beginning; wherefore, he prepareth a way to accomplish all his works among the children of men; for behold, he hath all power unto the fulfilling of all his words. And thus it is. Amen.

Like Nephi, my husband and I received the inspiration to make a huge change in our lives. We are currently following that inspiration, even though we have no idea what is meant to come of it. We are acting upon that second faith, which we believe will provide the power to do the work and will of the Lord. We trust that the Lord knows what is best for us, and how we can serve him best at this time in our lives. We have faith that He will help us on this path, because we are doing what he has commanded of us. I am so grateful for the witness of God’s love for me and for the strength to follow this path, even though I do not know the purpose He has for it.

0 Responses to “Two Types of Faith”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


