Faith to Be an Example

In 1 Nephi chapter 7, the sons of Lehi have returned back to Jerusalem to ask Ishmael’s family to come with them, because the Lord told them it was not good for them to go without being able to marry and have families. Then some of the family of Lehi and some of those of Ishmael’s family began to murmur and want to return to Jersalem. I find myself reflecting on the words of Nephi to his family, found in verse 8. “And now I, Nephi, being grieved for the hardness of their hearts, therefore I spake unto them, saying, yea, even unto Laman and unto Lemuel: Behold ye are mine elder brethren, and how is it that ye are so hard in your hearts, and so blind in your minds, that ye have need that I, your younger brother, should speak unto you, yea, and set an example for you?” It seems natural to want older siblings to set an example, because they should be ‘older and wiser’ as the saying goes. However, this is not always the case. I am in a family with four older siblings, and I have always had the desire to look up to them as an example in my own life. Sometimes, however, it becomes necessary for the younger sibling to live as an example to those who are older. My patriarchal blessing mentions that I will need to be an example to my own family, in this same sense as Nephi had to be. I can feel that my attempts to set an example for my siblings is met with quite a bit of frustration on their part over my being the younger sibling to them. It is a difficult thing to experience and I’m not even in a situation where I have need to be concerned for my life. Nonetheless, it is a scary thing to experience. I love my family and I have a strong desire to be close with them. When I try to stand as an example, they set themselves further apart from me. This tempts me to hold my tongue and keep my beliefs to myself. When I look at the example of Nephi, I see that he had the faith to speak with boldness to his brothers, even in the face of severe persecution to the point of death. He did not fear that speaking of the truth would ruin his relationship, because he loved them and grieved for their lack of faithfulness. I hope that in my own life, I will be able to follow the inspirations that come to be that example, to speak up and stand up for what I believe, and trust that even though they may like me less for it now, it will someday bless their lives.

0 Responses to “Faith to Be an Example”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


