The Ninth Article of Faith

As members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints,

We believe all that God has revealed, all that He does now reveal, and we believe that He will yet reveal many great and important things pertaining to the Kingdom of God.

We believe that God is unchanging. In Malachi 3:6 we read, “For I am the Lord, I change not . . .”. We believe that when Adam and Eve were on the earth, He revealed gospel truth and mysteries of the kingdom to him. In Moses chapter 5 we read

, 4 And Adam and Eve, his wife, called upon the name of the Lord, and they heard the voice of the Lord from the way toward the Garden of Eden, speaking unto them, and they saw him not; for they were shut out from his presence.
5 And he gave unto them commandments, that they should worship the Lord their God, and should offer the firstlings of their flocks, for an offering unto the Lord. And Adam was obedient unto the commandments of the Lord.
. . .
58 And thus the Gospel began to be preached, from the beginning, being declared by holy angels sent forth from the presence of God, and by his own voice, and by the gift of the Holy Ghost.
59 And thus all things were confirmed unto Adam, by an holy ordinance, and the Gospel preached, and a decree sent forth, that it should be in the world, until the end thereof; and thus it was. Amen.

This revelation made it possible for Adam and his posterity to do all that was necessary to earn the reward of salvation and eternal life. In Amos 3:7 we read, “Surely the Lord God will do nothing, but he revealeth his secret unto his servants the prophets.” We believe that he continued to reveal marvelous things to all the prophets of old, which we can learn about through out the scriptures. In Ephesians chapter 3 paul records the following:

1 For this cause I Paul, the prisoner of Jesus Christ for you Gentiles,
2 If ye have heard of the dispensation of the grace of God which is given me to you-ward:
3 How that by revelation he made known unto me the mystery . . .

This gift of revelation is recorded often throughout the Book of Mormon. In 1 Nephi 18:3 we read, “And I, Nephi, did go into the mount oft, and I did pray oft unto the Lord; wherefore the Lord showed unto me great things.” The records of the revelations of ancient times, create a foundation of faith for us today. We believe that this revelation did not stop with the ancient prophets, because God changes not.

We believe that God revealed the everlasting gospel to the prophet Joseph Smith. Joseph read James 1:5, “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.” He followed that direction, asked God, and received great and marvelous revelations to lead and guide the Lord’s people. In Doctrine and Covenants 1:17 we read, “Wherefore, I the Lord, knowing the calamity which should come upon the inhabitants of the earth, called upon my servant Joseph Smith, Jun., and spake unto him from heaven, and gave him commandments . . .”. We believe that He continues to reveal to the prophets today. Only the prophet and president of the church can receive revelation for the church as a whole.

We believe also that we can receive personal revelation, to guide and direct our personal lives. In Moroni 10:4 we read, “And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.” This is one of the blessings of having the Gift of the Holy Ghost with us at all times. The key us that we must have faith and follow the commandments to receive this revelation. Otherwise we can only be influenced by the Spirit on occasion. We can only receive revelation for ourselves and those who we have a stewardship over, such as our children. As individuals we do not have authority to receive revelations for those who are over us, such as the leaders of the church.

Finally, we believe that God will continue to reveal to mankind through his prophets and personal wisperings of the spirit. In 2 Nephi 27:11 we read, “And the day cometh that the words of the book which were sealed shall be read upon the house tops; and they shall be read by the power of Christ; and all things shall be revealed unto the children of men which ever have been among the children of men, and which ever will be even unto the end of the earth.” I don’t think that God has revealed all things to all people, because so many of us still have a lot of questions about God and His creations and plan. I am so grateful for revelations, especially those that guide my life personally. I look forward to the greater knowledge that God has to give us. I hope that I will be receptive to those revelations when they come, so that I can learn and grow from them.

0 Responses to “The Ninth Article of Faith”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


