Showing Gratitude to the Lord

I am thinking today about how Lehi and his family are an example of having a heart full of gratitude for God. In 1 Nephi 5:9, Nephi records, “And it came to pass that they did rejoice exceedingly, and did offer sacrifice and burnt offerings unto the Lord; and they gave thanks unto the God of Israel.” So far in Nephi this is the second time that Lehi gave a sacrifice to the Lord to show gratitude for something. First, was for leading his family out of Jerusalem to save their lives. Second, was for guiding his sons in getting the plates and returning home safely. The example given to me in these scriptures, is the importance of giving gratitude before moving on to the next step in life. When Heavenly Father blesses us with tender mercies, not only should we recognize his hand in what happens for us, but we should prioritize showing Him gratitude. It should be the first thing that we think to do next. It is amazing the things you learn from having children. This week I found myself teaching this to my daughter who had prayed for help to find something. As soon as she told me she had found it, I asked her if she had prayed to say thanks to Heavenly Father. I know that this is important, and that I should practice that habit in my own life.

I was also noticing that their gratitude was not just saying a thank you, as it often seems in my own life. Their thanks was accompanied by a sacrifice and offering to God. We don’t believe in physical sacrifices and offerings of animals today, because the ultimate sacrifice of the Savior did away with that. We should however, be willing to sacrifice our own time, energy, and means for doing the will of God. I am sure that my gratitude would be more acceptable to the Lord, if I chose to make a sacrifice and offer it to the Lord for his purposes. I’m probably not going to have the need to thank the Lord for saving me from the hands of wicked men who are trying to kill me, but I do have simple things to be grateful for each day. For example, when I want to give thanks to God for the food He has provided for me, than I should sacrifice my desire for the things that are unhealthy and follow the Word of Wisdom as he has commanded. I know that if I show my gratitude in my actions instead of just my words, that I will be following this example and that it will be pleasing to God.

0 Responses to “Showing Gratitude to the Lord”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


