Seeing the Negative

I read the third chapter of 1 Nephi today, which tells of the attempts of Nephi and his brothers to get the plates of brass from Laban. Lamen and Lemuel experience a visit from an angel of the Lord, who tells them they should not hurt Nephi and Sam, but that they should follow the commandment that was given to them.

29 And it came to pass as they smote us with a rod, behold, an angel of the Lord came and stood before them, and he spake unto them, saying: Why do ye smite your younger brother with a rod? Know ye not that the Lord hath chosen him to be a ruler over you, and this because of your iniquities? Behold ye shall go up to Jerusalem again, and the Lord will deliver Laban into your hands.
30 And after the angel had spoken unto us, he departed.
31 And after the angel had departed, Laman and Lemuel again began to murmur, saying: How is it possible that the Lord will deliver Laban into our hands? Behold, he is a mighty man, and he can command fifty, yea, even he can slay fifty; then why not us?

Even after this experience, they murmured about how they could possible accomplish the thing that they were supposed to do. My personality is such that when planning, I will see all the things that could go wrong. I think I think like this for two reasons. Occasionally it is so that I can be fully prepared for whatever may happen, in which case it is helpful to me. However, I think that more often then not, I do this because I want to find a way out of a situation that is hard for me. When I do this, I am doing exactly what Lamen and Lemuel were doing. When I am prompted by the spirit to do something, or in other words, the Lord is telling me that I should do something, I need to make sure that I turn to faith and not fear. I need to be a bit more proactive and really think of the ways I can do that thing, and not all the ways that would stop me from accomplishing it. I know that if I turn to faith more fully in my life, I will receive blessings beyond measure.

0 Responses to “Seeing the Negative”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


