Murmuring Against Lehi

In 1 Nephi, chapter 2, we read for the first time about the murmurings of Lamen and Lemuel against their father. In verse 11 we read, “Now this he spake because of the stiffneckedness of Laman and Lemuel; for behold they did murmur in many things against their father, because he was a visionary man, and had led them out of the land of Jerusalem, to leave the land of their inheritance, and their gold, and their silver, and their precious things, to perish in the wilderness. And this they said he had done because of the foolish imaginations of his heart.” Their father, however, was not just that. Lehi was a prophet of God. They were choosing to murmur against the prophet, who God had called and chosen to lead them to safety. As I thought about this today, I remembered the person I was a few years ago. Specifically, I remember when the program of Relief Society was changed from homemaking to enrichment. The program was different and less structured by my standards. I actually remember sitting at a conference among other women of the Relief Society and vocally murmuring about the choice that the leaders were making. As I have grown since that time, and have come to love the programs in Relief Society, I have felt a sadness over my own knee-jerk reaction against the changes. I was behaving just as Lamen and Lemuel did at that time. I was murmuring against the prophet and other church leaders. And I was trying to convince others of my own stand on the issue. I am glad to say that my thoughts and behaviors have long since changed for the better. I find it so much easier to follow any changes in programs or anything like that, because I have taken the time to gain my own testimony of the Relief Society program. I know that when we take the time to seek out a testimony for ourselves, just as Nephi did, that we will be able to follow the prophets as we have been commanded, without murmuring. I am so grateful for the prophets and I want to follow their direction and examples.

0 Responses to “Murmuring Against Lehi”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


