Joseph Smith-Matthew (Part 2)

This is a continuation of the previous post (Joseph Smith-Matthew Part 1).

This is a translation of Matthew Chapter 24 from the King James version of the Bible. (Emphasis in quotes below is for changes to the Joseph Smith translation from the KJV.) The Savior has taught his disciples about the destruction of Jerusalem and is relating it to the things that will happen at His Second Coming. He continues his teachings:

24 Behold, I have told you before;
25 Wherefore, if they shall say unto you: Behold, he is in the desert; go not forth: Behold, he is in the secret chambers; believe it not;
26 For as the light of the morning cometh out of the east, and shineth even unto the west, and covereth the whole earth, so shall also the coming of the Son of Man be.

The Savior taught his disciples, and now us, that we must not believe the false prophets who will tell us the Savior will come in their ways. When He comes again, as the son which brings light to the whole earth. Anything or anyone, who claims that our salvation can come by any other means than what the gospel of Jesus Christ teaches, is a false prophet or false Christ. We do not have to go to the desert or in secret to find Him. We find Him through his gospel, which is plain and available openly to all who are searching for Him. The plan of salvation will not change because the times have changed, because God and His gospel are constant. I believe that He will come again, just as the prophets of old have said. I believe that the gospel is true and available to each and every one of us, if we allow our hearts to be opened, softened and changed.

27 And now I show unto you a parable. Behold, wheresoever the carcass is, there will the eagles be gathered together; so likewise shall mine elect be gathered from the four quarters of the earth.
28 And they shall hear of wars, and rumors of wars.
29 Behold I speak for mine elect’s sake; for nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom; there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.
30 And again, because iniquity shall abound, the love of men shall wax cold; but he that shall not be overcome, the same shall be saved.
31 And again, this Gospel of the Kingdom shall be preached in all the world, for a witness unto all nations, and then shall the end come, or the destruction of the wicked;
32 And again shall the abomination of desolation, spoken of by Daniel the prophet, be fulfilled.

33 And immediately after the tribulation of those days, the sun shall be darkened, and the moon shall not give her light, and the stars shall fall from heaven, and the powers of heaven shall be shaken.
34 Verily, I say unto you, this generation, in which these things shall be shown forth, shall not pass away until all I have told you shall be fulfilled.
35 Although, the days will come, that heaven and earth shall pass away; yet my words shall not pass away, but all shall be fulfilled.
36 And, as I said before, after the tribulation of those days, and the powers of the heavens shall be shaken,
then shall appear the sign of the Son of Man in heaven, and then shall all the tribes of the earth mourn; and they shall see the Son of Man coming in the clouds of heaven, with power and great glory;
37 And whoso treasureth up my word, shall not be deceived, for the Son of Man shall come, and he shall send his angels before him with the great sound of a trumpet, and they shall gather together the remainder of his elect from the four winds, from one end of heaven to the other.

Jesus taught his disciples that all the righteous will be gathered from all over the earth. There will be great trials and tribulations, wars, evil and wickedness which cover the earth. We are experiencing a great number of these things today. It says that the love of men will wax cold. I think that this is evident greatly in the breaking down of the family unit. People are becoming cold to one another, especially to those whom they should love and care for the most. But even in with all that, those who remain righteous and faithful are promised that they will be saved. They will have this ability to be saved, because the gospel will reach to all the world. As the gospel goes forth, people will be drawn to the truth and to Christ, just as the birds of the air are drawn together to one place. Once the gospel has been taken to all the world, then the wicked will be destroyed. At that time, the signs of the coming of the Lord again, will come to pass as they have been prophesied. Those who are there to witness the signs of His coming, will be there until all things will be fulfilled, including the Second Coming of our Savior, Jesus Christ. When he comes, all those who are covenanted members of His gospel, will be gathered together. I believe that at that time, those covenanted people will be quickened to meet the Savior and the saints who have died before that time. I hope that I am on the right path to be considered one who treasures the word of the Lord. I hope that I will remain strong and not be deceived by the temptations and snares that Satan will surely place in my path. I look forward to this great and dreadful day of the coming of the Lord.

This post is to be continued.

0 Responses to “Joseph Smith-Matthew (Part 2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


