Abraham Chapter 3

Abraham was a prophet, called by God to preach and to lead his righteous family and followers to Egypt. So far in the Book of Abraham, we have read a few times where the Lord has protected and guided Abraham directly. Abraham’s record continues:

1 And I, Abraham, had the Urim and Thummim, which the Lord my God had given unto me, in Ur of the Chaldees;
2 And I saw the stars, that they were very great, and that one of them was nearest unto the throne of God; and there were many great ones which were near unto it;
3 And the Lord said unto me: These are the governing ones; and the name of the great one is Kolob, because it is near unto me, for I am the Lord thy God: I have set this one to govern all those which belong to the same order as that upon which thou standest.

The Urim and Thummim is an instrument that God has given to prophets throughout the history of the world, which assists them in translation and receiving revelations. This instrument requires the power and authority of the priesthood in order to be used. The Lord gave Abraham a Urim and Thummim in which he learned about all the stars, including the star of Kolob, which governs all the other stars we can see. From the footnote for Kolob, it references other scriptures which teach us about heaven, and the place where God is. I think that Kolob is the closest place to God.

4 And the Lord said unto me, by the Urim and Thummim, that Kolob was after the manner of the Lord, according to its times and seasons in the revolutions thereof; that one revolution was a day unto the Lord, after his manner of reckoning, it being one thousand years according to the time appointed unto that whereon thou standest. This is the reckoning of the Lord’s time, according to the reckoning of Kolob.
5 And the Lord said unto me: The planet which is the lesser light, lesser than that which is to rule the day, even the night, is above or greater than that upon which thou standest in point of reckoning, for it moveth in order more slow; this is in order because it standeth above the earth upon which thou standest, therefore the reckoning of its time is not so many as to its number of days, and of months, and of years.
6 And the Lord said unto me: Now, Abraham, these two facts exist, behold thine eyes see it; it is given unto thee to know the times of reckoning, and the set time, yea, the set time of the earth upon which thou standest, and the set time of the greater light which is set to rule the day, and the set time of the lesser light which is set to rule the night.
7 Now the set time of the lesser light is a longer time as to its reckoning than the reckoning of the time of the earth upon which thou standest.
8 And where these two facts exist, there shall be another fact above them, that is, there shall be another planet whose reckoning of time shall be longer still;
9 And thus there shall be the reckoning of the time of one planet above another, until thou come nigh unto Kolob, which Kolob is after the reckoning of the Lord’s time; which Kolob is set nigh unto the throne of God, to govern all those planets which belong to the same order as that upon which thou standest.
10 And it is given unto thee to know the set time of all the stars that are set to give light, until thou come near unto the throne of God.

We learn here, that a revolution on Kolob, is one thousand years to us on earth. We also learn here that the moon is greater than the earth in its movement of time. According to these verses, Abraham was taught that the moon revolves more slowly than the earth, which is the proper order of time because it is above the earth, which I think means that it is closer to Kolob. Then he was taught that the next greater planet will move even slower because it is closer to Kolob. These things were revealed to Abraham to know the nature of time for the earth, planets and stars.

11 Thus I, Abraham, talked with the Lord, face to face, as one man talketh with another; and he told me of the works which his hands had made;
12 And he said unto me: My son, my son (and his hand was stretched out), behold I will show you all these. And he put his hand upon mine eyes, and I saw those things which his hands had made, which were many; and they multiplied before mine eyes, and I could not see the end thereof.
13 And he said unto me: This is Shinehah, which is the sun. And he said unto me: Kokob, which is star. And he said unto me: Olea, which is the moon. And he said unto me: Kokaubeam, which signifies stars, or all the great lights, which were in the firmament of heaven.
14 And it was in the night time when the Lord spake these words unto me: I will multiply thee, and thy seed after thee, like unto these; and if thou canst count the number of sands, so shall be the number of thy seeds.
15 And the Lord said unto me: Abraham, I show these things unto thee before ye go into Egypt, that ye may declare all these words.

The Lord revealed all his creations to Abraham, with the touch of his hands. Then the Lord told Abraham that he was shown these things so that he would preach them to the people when he got to Egypt. The Lord reveals these things to the prophets, so that everyone else can learn of them. Abraham was given this knowledge to be able to teach the people and bring them closer to God. I have to wonder if the topic of the universe and time was a major topic of learning at this point in Egypt, and if this was the way that the spirit would be able to touch the hearts of mankind most.

Abraham was promised again that his seed would be great in number. This promise is an eternal promise of the blessings of eternal life, which include a posterity that goes on forever. This promise is extended to everyone who makes covenants in the temple through the sealing power of the priesthood. I am hopeful of the blessings that come from the covenants that I have made in the temple.

16 If two things exist, and there be one above the other, there shall be greater things above them; therefore Kolob is the greatest of all the Kokaubeam that thou hast seen, because it is nearest unto me.
17 Now, if there be two things, one above the other, and the moon be above the earth, then it may be that a planet or a star may exist above it; and there is nothing that the Lord thy God shall take in his heart to do but what he will do it.
18 Howbeit that he made the greater star; as, also, if there be two spirits, and one shall be more intelligent than the other, yet these two spirits, notwithstanding one is more intelligent than the other, have no beginning; they existed before, they shall have no end, they shall exist after, for they are gnolaum, or eternal.
19 And the Lord said unto me: These two facts do exist, that there are two spirits, one being more intelligent than the other; there shall be another more intelligent than they; I am the Lord thy God, I am more intelligent than they all.

Here the Lord teaches Abraham about our eternal nature. Just as one planet is above another because of it relation in space to Kolob or to Him, one spirit will be above another because its intelligence is closer to that of God, who is the greatest. This makes perfect sense to me. We are all on different levels of spiritual intelligence. We learn line upon line, from our individual experiences. This is okay. I don’t think that this makes any one of us greater than another in the eternal view of things, because we are all working towards becoming like God. The important thing is that we are all striving to grow closer to Him. It is not important where we are in relation to others right now, it only matters what we are each trying to become.

20 The Lord thy God sent his angel to deliver thee from the hands of the priest of Elkenah.
21 I dwell in the midst of them all; I now, therefore, have come down unto thee to declare unto thee the works which my hands have made, wherein my wisdom excelleth them all, for I rule in the heavens above, and in the earth beneath, in all wisdom and prudence, over all the intelligences thine eyes have seen from the beginning; I came down in the beginning in the midst of all the intelligences thou hast seen.
22 Now the Lord had shown unto me, Abraham, the intelligences that were organized before the world was; and among all these there were many of the noble and great ones;
23 And God saw these souls that they were good, and he stood in the midst of them, and he said: These I will make my rulers; for he stood among those that were spirits, and he saw that they were good; and he said unto me: Abraham, thou art one of them; thou wast chosen before thou wast born.
24 And there stood one among them that was like unto God, and he said unto those who were with him: We will go down, for there is space there, and we will take of these materials, and we will make an earth whereon these may dwell;
25 And we will prove them herewith, to see if they will do all things whatsoever the Lord their God shall command them;
26 And they who keep their first estate shall be added upon; and they who keep not their first estate shall not have glory in the same kingdom with those who keep their first estate; and they who keep their second estate shall have glory added upon their heads for ever and ever.
27 And the Lord said: Whom shall I send? And one answered like unto the Son of Man: Here am I, send me. And another answered and said: Here am I, send me. And the Lord said: I will send the first.
28 And the second was angry, and kept not his first estate; and, at that day, many followed after him.

God is the being of the most intelligence, or the greatest. As the greatest, he was the creator of all that we now know, and became the leader of other spirits of great intelligence. Those spirits were chosen to be leaders in this life, such as the prophets of God. Abraham was told that he was among the greatest and was chosen before this life, or foreordained. In this group of the greatest, there was one who was like God, and He led the other foreordained leaders in creating the earth and everything on it. This leader was Jesus Christ. I have heard it said that God is the architect who designed the world, Christ is the general contractor, and there are several great spirits who were called to be the workers and who literally built the world. I think that it helps me to understand these verses more. I believe that many spirits were given the opportunity to learn and grow in their state of progression, by being given the work of creating different parts of the world we have now. This is one of those things that I am curious to know about after this life. I think it will be great to know who created the beautiful things I enjoy, and to know if I played any part in that work.

Abraham was told of the plan for the spirits in heaven. He was told about the choice we had to keep our first estate, which means to follow our spiritual leader, Christ, and choose to gain a body and live on this earth. Christ was the first, who was chosen in the pre-existance, to be our Savior and to lead us all back to God. All people who live on the earth, have kept their first estate. The Lord taught Abraham, that all those who made this choice, would be added upon. I believe that this means that we are given the opportunity to progress and gain intelligence, where those who did not choose to follow Christ, are halted in their progression. The second spirit who offered himself to be sent by God, was Satan, who led away many spirits in the pre-existence. Those spirits did not keep their first estate. Our second estate is to make and keep covenants in this life. We will be added upon forever if we choose to make and keep our covenants with God. I believe that these things are true. The knowledge of where we came from, our reason for being here, and where we are going, gives me a greater hope in this life. I am so grateful for the gospel and for the opportunity to learn and grow in intelligence, so that I may one day become like God and live with Him again.

1 Response to “Abraham Chapter 3”


  1. 1 Jeanie Cherry Breiling July 13, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    Just want to thank you for sharing your knowledge of the scriptures. This was very helpful to me in my studies.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


