What is the Book of Abraham?

In short, the Book of Abraham is a group of translations done by the prophet Joseph Smith, during the early days of the church. He had come in possession of ancient Egyptian papyrus in 1835 through a purchase by the members of the church. One of the records was about father Abraham during his time in Egypt. Abraham is a patriarch of the Bible. We read about him starting in Genisis. He is the source of really great scripture stories such as the sacrifice of his son Isaac, and from where the Abrahamic Covenant came. Through his seed came the tribes of Israel as well.

I believe that these things are true. I have not seen any physical proof of this, but I feel in my heart that the Book of Abraham was an inspired translation of an ancient record. I believe that they were translated by a prophet of God, Joseph Smith, and that they have been included in our standard works (scriptures) for our learning and benefit. I look forward to a deeper study of these things and to applying the teachings to my own life.

0 Responses to “What is the Book of Abraham?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


