Moses Chapter 7 (Part 2)

This is a continuation of the previous post (Moses Chapter 7 Part 1).

So far in this chapter, God has shown Enoch the righteousness of his own people (the city of Enoch, or Zion), the wickedness of others, and the destruction of all that was wicked at the time of Noah. This section continues:

45 And it came to pass that Enoch looked; and from Noah, he beheld all the families of the earth; and he cried unto the Lord, saying: When shall the day of the Lord come? When shall the blood of the Righteous be shed, that all they that mourn may be sanctified and have eternal life?
46 And the Lord said: It shall be in the meridian of time, in the days of wickedness and vengeance.
47 And behold, Enoch saw the day of the coming of the Son of Man, even in the flesh; and his soul rejoiced, saying: The Righteous is lifted up, and the Lamb is slain from the foundation of the world; and through faith I am in the bosom of the Father, and behold, Zion is with me.

Enoch, who was overcome with sorrow for the destruction of men at the time of the floods, found joy in the coming of the Savior. The Son of Man, Jesus Christ, would be sacrificed and through his suffering, all mankind would be able to become clean and pure again. The Savior lived in a time of wickedness and vengeance. He was pure and perfect, but was slain by the world in which he lived. We all need to come to the point where we can find faith and hope through the Savior, just as Enoch did during this revelation.

48 And it came to pass that Enoch looked upon the earth; and he heard a voice from the bowels thereof, saying: Wo, wo is me, the mother of men; I am pained, I am weary, because of the wickedness of my children. When shall I rest, and be cleansed from the filthiness which is gone forth out of me? When will my Creator sanctify me, that I may rest, and righteousness for a season abide upon my face?
49 And when Enoch heard the earth mourn, he wept, and cried unto the Lord, saying: O Lord, wilt thou not have compassion upon the earth? Wilt thou not bless the children of Noah?
50 And it came to pass that Enoch continued his cry unto the Lord, saying: I ask thee, O Lord, in the name of thine Only Begotten, even Jesus Christ, that thou wilt have mercy upon Noah and his seed, that the earth might never more be covered by the floods.
51 And the Lord could not withhold; and he covenanted with Enoch, and sware unto him with an oath, that he would stay the floods; that he would call upon the children of Noah;
52 And he sent forth an unalterable decree, that a remnant of his seed should always be found among all nations, while the earth should stand;
53 And the Lord said: Blessed is he through whose seed Messiah shall come; for he saith—I am Messiah, the King of Zion, the Rock of Heaven, which is broad as eternity; whoso cometh in at the gate and climbeth up by me shall never fall; wherefore, blessed are they of whom I have spoken, for they shall come forth with songs of everlasting joy.

This is a reminder here, that the earth has a spirit just as we have spirits. We learn from the description of the creation found earlier in Moses, that all things were created spiritually before they were created physically, and the earth is one of the things which was created by God. The earth was cleansed when the floods came, and was made to suffer in a way, because of the wickedness of men. The the earth asked when it would no longer be made to have wickedness upon it. I think this is in reference to the eventual sanctification of the earth when it will receive its paradisiacal glory. Enoch was so touched by what he heard from the earth, that he pleaded with the Lord for it. The Lord had compassion for the earth, and so He made a covenant with Enoch that after the floods of Noah, the earth would never again experience the floods that would cover the earth.

54 And it came to pass that Enoch cried unto the Lord, saying: When the Son of Man cometh in the flesh, shall the earth rest? I pray thee, show me these things.
55 And the Lord said unto Enoch: Look, and he looked and beheld the Son of Man lifted up on the cross, after the manner of men;
56 And he heard a loud voice; and the heavens were veiled; and all the creations of God mourned; and the earth groaned; and the rocks were rent; and the saints arose, and were crowned at the right hand of the Son of Man, with crowns of glory;
57 And as many of the spirits as were in prison came forth, and stood on the right hand of God; and the remainder were reserved in chains of darkness until the judgment of the great day.
58 And again Enoch wept and cried unto the Lord, saying: When shall the earth rest?
59 And Enoch beheld the Son of Man ascend up unto the Father; and he called unto the Lord, saying: Wilt thou not come again upon the earth? Forasmuch as thou art God, and I know thee, and thou hast sworn unto me, and commanded me that I should ask in the name of thine Only Begotten; thou hast made me, and given unto me a right to thy throne, and not of myself, but through thine own grace; wherefore, I ask thee if thou wilt not come again on the earth.

I think it is amazing that Enoch had the type of relationship with God, that he could ask in such a way as to say “I know thee”. Enoch knew that he had been favored of God and that he would be blessed to be exalted through the grace of God, and therefore he knew he would given an answer to his questions. Enoch at this point was transfigured through the power of God and had the spirit of God in Him. I look forward to the day when I will have that kind of relationship with the Lord, when I will be able to ask the burning questions of my heart. Enoch had seen great suffering in this revelation and now he wanted to know when the time of the rest would come. The Lord showed him that rest would not come with the original coming of Christ. He saw that the Savior would be crucified by men, which would cause more suffering to the earth, but also great blessings for righteous spirits. Then he asked if God would again return to the earth.

60 And the Lord said unto Enoch: As I live, even so will I come in the last days, in the days of wickedness and vengeance, to fulfil the oath which I have made unto you concerning the children of Noah;
61 And the day shall come that the earth shall rest, but before that day the heavens shall be darkened, and a veil of darkness shall cover the earth; and the heavens shall shake, and also the earth; and great tribulations shall be among the children of men, but my people will I preserve;
62 And righteousness will I send down out of heaven; and truth will I send forth out of the earth, to bear testimony of mine Only Begotten; his resurrection from the dead; yea, and also the resurrection of all men; and righteousness and truth will I cause to sweep the earth as with a flood, to gather out mine elect from the four quarters of the earth, unto a place which I shall prepare, an Holy City, that my people may gird up their loins, and be looking forth for the time of my coming; for there shall be my tabernacle, and it shall be called Zion, a New Jerusalem.

The Lord promised Enoch that he would return again in the last days. The world would again be full of wickedness and vengeance before the second coming. Darkness would cover the earth again, the the earth will suffer and shake for the wickedness of the people, but the righteous would be preserved just as was promised to Enoch. Then at that time, the restoration of the gospel would begin. This began when the Book of Mormon was brought forth again, through the prophet Joseph Smith. Then the priesthood keys were restored to the earth through angels from heaven, or through righteousness sent down from heaven. At the same time, the church of Christ was being restored upon the earth, through the many revelations that were received by Joseph Smith, from the Lord. These revelations are recorded in what we know as the Doctrine and Covenants. All these parts of the restoration, have come to bear witness of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

In the last days, the city of Zion, the New Jerusalem, will be built again and a temple will be built there. This will be possible because there will be those who are righteous enough to build it up. Now is a time of trial for the saints, because we are being prepared to be worthy of this great task. The ways of the world are a type of test for us, and they will separate the most devoted of the Saints of God, from the rest of the world. Truth is surely flooding the earth and the elect of the Lord are being gathered. I think it is amazing to be living in this time of restoration and truth, when so many amazing things are happening and will soon happen on the earth.

63 And the Lord said unto Enoch: Then shalt thou and all thy city meet them there, and we will receive them into our bosom, and they shall see us; and we will fall upon their necks, and they shall fall upon our necks, and we will kiss each other;
64 And there shall be mine abode, and it shall be Zion, which shall come forth out of all the creations which I have made; and for the space of a thousand years the earth shall rest.
65 And it came to pass that Enoch saw the day of the coming of the Son of Man, in the last days, to dwell on the earth in righteousness for the space of a thousand years;
66 But before that day he saw great tribulations among the wicked; and he also saw the sea, that it was troubled, and men’s hearts failing them, looking forth with fear for the judgments of the Almighty God, which should come upon the wicked.
67 And the Lord showed Enoch all things, even unto the end of the world; and he saw the day of the righteous, the hour of their redemption, and received a fulness of joy;
68 And all the days of Zion, in the days of Enoch, were three hundred and sixty-five years.
69 And Enoch and all his people walked with God, and he dwelt in the midst of Zion; and it came to pass that Zion was not, for God received it up into his own bosom; and from thence went forth the saying, Zion is Fled.

The city of Zion, Enoch’s city, will be returned to the modern city of Zion. There will be great rejoicing because of the righteousness. The New Jerusalem will be the dwelling place of the Lord, and the earth will receive it’s rest for the millennium. Enoch saw the wickedness before the Second Coming, and the fear that the wicked will have because of the judgement. We live in a time now where we need to live righteously and learn that fear and faith cannot coexist in us. I know that in that day, only those who are truly wicked will be destroyed. All people who are trying to live good lives, will be saved and will have the opportunity then to hear and accept the gospel. This will be a time of great happiness for all people on the earth and there is nothing that should cause fear in that, unless we are truly wicked. If we fear, than we have things that we need to work on and repent for, so that we can find the faith in the Second Coming and the blessings that will follow. I am not perfect, but I am at a place in my life where the knowledge of the Coming of the Savior again, brings me so much excitement and joy. I know that the righteous will be blessed and I plan on being counted among them in that day.

Enoch was shown these things, and then went back to serve as the prophet and leader of a great and righteous people in the city of Zion. The city was on the earth for 365 years before it was received into the bosom of God. During this time, the people were taught and prepared for living a completely righteous life. It did not happen over night. I don’t think that we can expect anyone to become completely righteous that quickly, let alone an entire city. It can happen for those who follow the prophet and his council, just as those of Zion followed Enoch. Once the city was prepared, Enoch was given the power and authority to be translated along with the entire city of Zion. I am sure that Enoch had the opportunity to preach and teach many people about the things which he had learned about the plan of salvation. I am also sure that this was a time of great happiness for the people there. It gives me hope to know that one day, a new city of Zion will be able to be as righteous as the city of Zion from ancient days.

0 Responses to “Moses Chapter 7 (Part 2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


