D&C Section 93

It feels like forever since I posted on a section of the Doctrine and Covenants. I guess that is what happens when kids are out of school for the holidays. I am glad to be back.

This section was received through the Prophet, Joseph Smith, while in Kirtland, Ohio in 1833. At this time, the saints were hopeful for Zion to be established, but also suffering from persecution both outside of the church and within it. It was a difficult time, and this revelation came as a source of strength to the saints.

1 Verily, thus saith the Lord: It shall come to pass that every soul who forsaketh his sins and cometh unto me, and calleth on my name, and obeyeth my voice, and keepeth my commandments, shall see my face and know that I am;
2 And that I am the true light that lighteth every man that cometh into the world;
3 And that I am in the Father, and the Father in me, and the Father and I are one—
4 The Father because he gave me of his fulness, and the Son because I was in the world and made flesh my tabernacle, and dwelt among the sons of men.
5 I was in the world and received of my Father, and the works of him were plainly manifest.

There is hope in living righteously, no matter what we may be facing in our lives. This hope comes from the mission of our Savior, Jesus Christ. All those who are faithfully, are promised to see the face of our Lord and to know that He is the Christ.

6 And John saw and bore record of the fulness of my glory, and the fulness of John’s record is hereafter to be revealed.
7 And he bore record, saying: I saw his glory, that he was in the beginning, before the world was;
8 Therefore, in the beginning the Word was, for he was the Word, even the messenger of salvation—
9 The light and the Redeemer of the world; the Spirit of truth, who came into the world, because the world was made by him, and in him was the life of men and the light of men.
10 The worlds were made by him; men were made by him; all things were made by him, and through him, and of him.
11 And I, John, bear record that I beheld his glory, as the glory of the Only Begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth, even the Spirit of truth, which came and dwelt in the flesh, and dwelt among us.
12 And I, John, saw that he received not of the fulness at the first, but received grace for grace;
13 And he received not of the fulness at first, but continued from grace to grace, until he received a fulness;
14 And thus he was called the Son of God, because he received not of the fulness at the first.
15 And I, John, bear record, and lo, the heavens were opened, and the Holy Ghost descended upon him in the form of a dove, and sat upon him, and there came a voice out of heaven saying: This is my beloved Son.
16 And I, John, bear record that he received a fulness of the glory of the Father;
17 And he received all power, both in heaven and on earth, and the glory of the Father was with him, for he dwelt in him.
18 And it shall come to pass, that if you are faithful you shall receive the fulness of the record of John.

Here there is reference to a John, an apostle of Jesus Christ during his ministry on the earth. When the Savior came to them as the resurrected Lord, John said that there were many things that the Savior did, which were not recorded at that time (see John 20:30). Our record in the New Testament, is the testimony of John, the apostle. He gives us a record of seeing the glory of the Lord, which we have so that we can have faith on his testimony and be blessed for believing it. It is my understanding that John, the apostle, promises the faithful will have the fullness of the record of John, the Baptist, revealed to them. As far as I know, these have still not been revealed to us, but I am sure that the prophesy will come to pass, and with his testimony we will find a greater faith and knowledge of the Savior.

This witness from John, teaches or reminds us of some of the things the Savior has done. First, I think it is important to see that as a resurrected Lord, the Savior was in the fullness of His glory. At the time of our own resurrections, we will receive our own glory and it will be a fullness according to our own works of righteousness. John tells us that the glory showed him that the Lord was there in the beginning and that he had created the world under the direction of God, the Father. It is interesting to read that Jesus Christ was not immediately given all the glory of God, the Father. He was given His glory over time, until he had received the fullness. We progress in the same fashion, one step at a time, and we have the promise that if we are faithful and live as the Savior lived, we too can receive the fullness of Glory. This comes a little at a time, as we do good works and are obedient to the will of God.

19 I give unto you these sayings that you may understand and know how to worship, and know what you worship, that you may come unto the Father in my name, and in due time receive of his fulness.
20 For if you keep my commandments you shall receive of his fulness, and be glorified in me as I am in the Father; therefore, I say unto you, you shall receive grace for grace.

We should know from this, that we are to worship the Son of God, Jesus Christ. We are to follow His example and to live as He lived. We should be striving each day to do one more thing that will bring us closer to Him. When we do this, we will receive the grace of God a little at a time, and we will become more like the Savior.

21 And now, verily I say unto you, I was in the beginning with the Father, and am the Firstborn;
22 And all those who are begotten through me are partakers of the glory of the same, and are the church of the Firstborn.

I think that this means that those who are baptized in the name of Christ are of His church, but I am a little unsure on this. If anyone reading this has further insight, I would love to read it.

23 Ye were also in the beginning with the Father; that which is Spirit, even the Spirit of truth;
24 And truth is knowledge of things as they are, and as they were, and as they are to come;
25 And whatsoever is more or less than this is the spirit of that wicked one who was a liar from the beginning.
26 The Spirit of truth is of God. I am the Spirit of truth, and John bore record of me, saying: He received a fulness of truth, yea, even of all truth;
27 And no man receiveth a fulness unless he keepeth his commandments.
28 He that keepeth his commandments receiveth truth and light, until he is glorified in truth and knoweth all things.

Here is a basic truth of the plan of salvation. All of us were there, in the beginning. We do not know exactly when the beginning was, but we can know from this that our spirits were with God before we came to this earth. The spirits of the pre-existence, are spirits of truth. I believe that we all had true knowledge and we knowingly chose to come to the earth and follow Jesus Christ. I believe that as we seek for truth in this life, that the veil which covers our mind is lifted little by little. I think that when the spirit testifies to us of truth, we are just having a reminder of what we already know to be truth. This knowledge is what is truly going to be or what really has happened. The power that comes from learning the truth of things, is uplifting and gives us strength to endure. The spirit is the only one who can give us these reminders of what is true, by touching our hearts and minds. We can only have the influence of the spirit, if we are being obedient to the commandments of God. Therefore, our obedience to the commandments will bring us truth and knowledge of things as they were, as they are, and as they will be. Eventually, we will have the ability to know all things, just as the Lord knows all things.

29 Man was also in the beginning with God. Intelligence, or the light of truth, was not created or made, neither indeed can be.
30 All truth is independent in that sphere in which God has placed it, to act for itself, as all intelligence also; otherwise there is no existence.
31 Behold, here is the agency of man, and here is the condemnation of man; because that which was from the beginning is plainly manifest unto them, and they receive not the light.
32 And every man whose spirit receiveth not the light is under condemnation.

Man was with God, as I said above. Intelligence is eternal. This concept is hard for the understanding of mortal minds. I think we can have a very basic idea or what that means, but I don’t think anyone will truly understand and know the concept of an eternal intelligence until we have passed on from our mortal state. I think that I understand these verses to mean that all of us have truth, or knowledge of what is true, available to us. We have the ability to choose to search for it and recognize it as part of our agency. If we choose not to search for it, and therefore do not receive it, we will be judged for it. The manual I am studying, gives a great quote that basically points out that we choose what things in this life to being knowledgable about by studying and testing the laws and principles of that thing. It stands to reason then, that we must study and test the laws and principles of God and religion, in order to gain a true knowledge of it. We do this by trying to be obedient to the commandments of God. (see “Absolute Truth”, Ensign Sept. 1978.)

33 For man is spirit. The elements are eternal, and spirit and element, inseparably connected, receive a fulness of joy;
34 And when separated, man cannot receive a fulness of joy.
35 The elements are the tabernacle of God; yea, man is the tabernacle of God, even temples; and whatsoever temple is defiled, God shall destroy that temple.

Our eternal nature is spiritual. We were spirits before we came to this earth. When we came to the earth, we gained our mortal bodies. Our spirits and bodies are only separated by death. If they are separated we cannot inherit all that God wants to give us, or we cannot have a fulness of joy. Through Jesus Christ, the resurrection has been made available to us so that we may receive that fulness. If we choose to destroy the temple that God has given us, or our bodies, by living a life of sin which abuses our bodies in many ways, we will be held accountable to the destruction from God.

36 The glory of God is intelligence, or, in other words, light and truth.
37 Light and truth forsake that evil one.

This intelligence is more than just being smart or having knowledge. Those who are truly intelligent have knowledge and use it to do the will of the Lord. Intelligence is being able to apply knowledge to the eternal perspective that is according to the plan of salvation. This is what we all should be striving for, because the glory of God is intelligence, and we are trying to become like Him.

38 Every spirit of man was innocent in the beginning; and God having redeemed man from the fall, men became again, in their infant state, innocent before God.
39 And that wicked one cometh and taketh away light and truth, through disobedience, from the children of men, and because of the tradition of their fathers.
40 But I have commanded you to bring up your children in light and truth.

There are many out in the world, who do not understand that we are not to be held accountable for the fall of Adam. The Savior has paid the price for that sin through the atonement. The Lord has freed us from paying the price for the sins of those who come before us. We are therefore, only responsible for the sins which we commit. When we come to the world, as little children, we are innocent, because of the atonement. Our innocence is only lost through disobedience to God’s laws once we are accountable. It is the responsibility of parents, to teach children the plan of salvation, and the gospel of Jesus Christ. The modern prophets have counseled us time and time again, that the way to keep families together and to keep our children on the straight and narrow path, is to teach them in the home. I believe that this is truth. I know that the more effort I make to teach my children the gospel, and to show them how to live it by my word and example, I will help them to have a stronger foundation and to be able to withstand the temptations that will come their way.

41 But verily I say unto you, my servant Frederick G. Williams, you have continued under this condemnation;
42 You have not taught your children light and truth, according to the commandments; and that wicked one hath power, as yet, over you, and this is the cause of your affliction.
43 And now a commandment I give unto you—if you will be delivered you shall set in order your own house, for there are many things that are not right in your house.
44 Verily, I say unto my servant Sidney Rigdon, that in some things he hath not kept the commandments concerning his children; therefore, first set in order thy house.
45 Verily, I say unto my servant Joseph Smith, Jun., or in other words, I will call you friends, for you are my friends, and ye shall have an inheritance with me—
46 I called you servants for the world’s sake, and ye are their servants for my sake—
47 And now, verily I say unto Joseph Smith, Jun.—You have not kept the commandments, and must needs stand rebuked before the Lord;
48 Your family must needs repent and forsake some things, and give more earnest heed unto your sayings, or be removed out of their place.
49 What I say unto one I say unto all; pray always lest that wicked one have power in you, and remove you out of your place.
50 My servant Newel K. Whitney also, a bishop of my church, hath need to be chastened, and set in order his family, and see that they are more diligent and concerned at home, and pray always, or they shall be removed out of their place.
51 Now, I say unto you, my friends, let my servant Sidney Rigdon go on his journey, and make haste, and also proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the gospel of salvation, as I shall give him utterance; and by your prayer of faith with one consent I will uphold him.
52 And let my servants Joseph Smith, Jun., and Frederick G. Williams make haste also, and it shall be given them even according to the prayer of faith; and inasmuch as you keep my sayings you shall not be confounded in this world, nor in the world to come.
53 And, verily I say unto you, that it is my will that you should hasten to translate my scriptures, and to obtain a knowledge of history, and of countries, and of kingdoms, of laws of God and man, and all this for the salvation of Zion. Amen.

Even the prophet and his counselors are not perfect in all things. The Lord chastened the prophet, Joseph Smith, and other prominent men of the early church, because they were not teaching their families all that they should. The gospel is centered around families. It is of the most importance that we do what is needed to keep our families strong and free from the temptations and traps of Satan. If we do this in our homes, our influence in other areas of our lives will be for good. In verse 49, we are given a key to doing what is right, and that is to pray. We need to pray privately as well as with our families. We need to learn to have more sincere and honest prayers. We must always have a prayer in our heart. It is important to remember that as parents, we cannot make our children choose the right. They have their agency and must be allowed to choose for themselves, but if they are not taught at home, we will be held accountable for the wrongs which they do.

I am so grateful for the hope that can be found in the gospel. I am grateful for the impressions of the spirit which teach me what is true. The Savior has paid the price for my sins and has given me an example of how I should be living. I love to learn of these things in the scriptures. I understand the importance of teaching my children the gospel. I hope and pray that my teaching and my example will help them to choose the right when they are faced with temptations. I know that if more parents understood the weight of their own responsibility to teach what is good, the world would be a better place. I know that prayer is vital to the success of parents and families.

0 Responses to “D&C Section 93”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


