D&C Section 79

Historical Background

This revelation was given through the Prophet, Joseph Smith, regarding Jared Carter. Brother Carter had asked the prophet what the will of the Lord was regarding him and this was given in response.

How Important Is It to Honor the Priesthood and Accept Assignments from the Lord?

“VERILY I say unto you, that it is my will that my servant Jared Carter should go again into the eastern countries, from place to place, and from city to city, in the power of the ordination wherewith he has been ordained, proclaiming glad tidings of great joy, even the everlasting gospel (v. 1). And I will send upon him the Comforter, which shall teach him the truth and the way whither he shall go (v. 2); And inasmuch as he is faithful, I will crown him again with sheaves (v. 3). Wherefore, let your heart be glad, my servant Jared Carter, and fear not, saith your Lord, even Jesus Christ. Amen (v. 4).”

As a sister in this gospel, sometimes it can be harder to understand my own role in honoring the priesthood. Men who hold the priesthood and honor it, are given the duty and ability to extend callings to others, such as myself. One way that I can honor the priesthood, is to accept the callings and assignments that I am given, no matter what I may feel about them. The priesthood is the power of God and because of that, the callings that I receive are given to me by God through these men. I know that if I am faithful in this, even when it may seem beyond my abilities to accomplish what I am asked to do, I will be blessed by the Lord. Brother Carter was an example of faithfulness and he did serve a mission and bring many souls to the Gospel and to Christ.

Those Who Are Faithful

Faith is a Sunrise

The blessings promised to the faithful include being crowned with sheaves. This blessings will be eternal and more wonderful than any person could possibly imagine. We have the opportunity to prove ourselves worthy in this life and gain the greatest reward of eternal life and exaltation to the highest degree. I have great hope in this promise and I am looking forward with faith each and every day.

0 Responses to “D&C Section 79”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


