D&C Section 38 (Part 2)

This post is a continuation of the previous post (Part 1).

This revelation was received through the Prophet, Joseph Smith, at a church conference.

“Eternity Is Pained, and the Angels Are Waiting”

“Verily I say unto you, ye are clean, but not all; and there is none else with whom I am well pleased (v. 10); For all flesh is corrupted before me; and the powers of darkness prevail upon the earth, among the children of men, in the presence of all the hosts of heaven (v. 11)—Which causeth silence to reign, and all eternity is pained, and the angels are waiting the great command to reap down the earth, to gather the tares that they may be burned; and, behold, the enemy is combined (v. 12).”

Eternity is pained, meaning the eternal realm has pain because of the wickedness found in the world. As the world becomes more wicked, which it truly does with each new generation, the angels are closer to come and separate the righteous from the wicked so that the wicked may be destroyed.

“The Land of Your Inheritance”

“And for your salvation I give unto you a commandment, for I have heard your prayers, and the poor have complained before me, and the rich have I made, and all flesh is mine, and I am no respecter of persons (v. 16). And I have made the earth rich, and behold it is my footstool, wherefore, again I will stand upon it (v. 17). And I hold forth and deign to give unto you greater riches, even a land of promise, a land flowing with milk and honey, upon which there shall be no curse when the Lord cometh (v. 18 ); And I will give it unto you for the land of your inheritance, if you seek it with all your hearts (v. 19). And this shall be my covenant with you, ye shall have it for the land of your inheritance, and for the inheritance of your children forever, while the earth shall stand, and ye shall possess it again in eternity, no more to pass away (v. 20).”

The earth was created in its immortal form, for man to live on it. Adam and Eve were given the earth by God. The earth was then changed to mortal, just as Adam and Eve became mortal. It was still given to man to care for it. The manual I am using explains that just as we need to receive the waters of baptism, the earth was baptized by the flood. That is something that I never thought of before. At the time of the millennium, the earth will be renewed by fire (just as we are baptized with the fire of the Holy Ghost), and be ready to return to its terrestrial state. The earth will then go through the resurrection, just as we will be resurrected and become a celestial earth. At that time the righteous will again inherit the earth. When the world is renewed to its terrestrial state during the millennium and time of the second coming, there will be no curse on it because Satan will no longer have power. The earth has always and will always belong to the children of God and it is for the inheritance of the righteous.

“I Will Be Your King”

“But, verily I say unto you that in time ye shall have no king nor ruler, for I will be your king and watch over you (v. 21). Wherefore, hear my voice and follow me, and you shall be a free people, and ye shall have no laws but my laws when I come, for I am your lawgiver, and what can stay my hand (v. 22)?” When the Savior comes again, he will reign as our king on this earth. Christ will be both our spiritual leader and our physical leader. Having a government, is an eternal principal. In the eternities, Christ will reign as king of the earth.

0 Responses to “D&C Section 38 (Part 2)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


