Moroni, Chapter 7

What is the setting and background of this chapter?

“And now I, Moroni, write a few of the words of my father Mormon, which he spake concerning faith, hope, and charity; for after this manner did he speak unto the people, as he taught them in the synagogue which they had built for the place of worship (v. 1).  And now I, Mormon, speak unto you, my beloved brethren; and it is by the grace of God the Father, and our Lord Jesus Christ, and his holy will, because of the gift of his calling unto me, that I am permitted to speak unto you at this time (v. 2).  Wherefore, I would speak unto you that are of the church, that are the peaceable followers of Christ, and that have obtained a sufficient hope by which ye can enter into the rest of the Lord, from this time henceforth until ye shall rest with him in heaven (v. 3).  And now my brethren, I judge these things of you because of your peaceable walk with the children of men (v. 4).”

I know of several people that I would consider to be “peaceable follower[s] of Christ”.  I think that peaceable followers of Christ are those who truly believe the gospel of the Savior and who want to follow it in all they do.  Those who are not ashamed of the gospel and who want to bring the gospel of peace to others.  I think that my family is striving to be peaceable followers of Christ, but there is room for improvement.  As members of the church, we should be always striving to follow the Lord.  We should also have a great desire to share the gospel with others and bring them peace.  Mormon addresses his words here to those who are striving to do this.

What is good?

“For behold, God hath said a man being evil cannot do that which is good . . . (v. 6)”.  What is the good that Mormon is talking about here?  “For I remember the word of God which saith by their works ye shall know them; for if their works be good, then they are good also (v. 5).  For behold, God hath said a man being evil cannot do that which is good; for if he offereth a gift, or prayeth unto God, except he shall do it with real intent it profiteth him nothing (v. 6).  For behold, it is not counted unto him for righteousness (v. 7).”  The good Mormon is talking about, is righteousness.  An evil man cannot do that which is righteous.  An evil man will not profit eternally from his works.

“For behold, if a man being evil giveth a gift, he doeth it grudgingly; wherefore it is counted unto him the same as if he had retained the gift; wherefore he is counted evil before God (v. 8 ).  And likewise also is it counted evil unto a man, if he shall pray and not with real intent of heart; yea, and it profiteth him nothing, for God receiveth none such (v. 9).  Wherefore, a man being evil cannot do that which is good; neither will he give a good gift (v. 10).”  To do good is to give a gift to God with righteous intention, or to pray to God with real intent of heart.  Without the real intent, is not good or unrighteous.  One who chooses to do evil before the Lord, is considered evil to the Lord.  And one who is evil, cannot do good.

“For behold, a bitter fountain cannot bring forth good water; neither can a good fountain bring forth bitter water; wherefore, a man being a servant of the devil cannot follow Christ; and if he follow Christ he cannot be a servant of the devil (v. 11).”  This scripture gives me comfort.  I am striving to follow Jesus Christ.  As long as I continue to strive to follow Him, I cannot be a servant of Satan.  If I find myself doing things that are good without the real intent, I know that I need to re-evaluate my attitude.  If I continually want to do good and have the intentions to follow the Savior, my works will be good and I will become what my Father in Heaven wants me to be.

How can we know and judge good from evil?

“Wherefore, take heed, my beloved brethren, that ye do not judge that which is evil to be of God, or that which is good and of God to be of the devil (v. 14).  For behold, my brethren, it is given unto you to judge, that ye may know good from evil; and the way to judge is as plain, that ye may know with a perfect knowledge, as the daylight is from the dark night (v. 15).”  It is easy for most of us to see the difference between daylight and dark night.  Mormon tells us here, that judging between good and evil should be this easy.

“Wherefore, all things which are good cometh of God; and that which is evil cometh of the devil; for the devil is an enemy unto God, and fighteth against him continually, and inviteth and enticeth to sin, and to do that which is evil continually (v. 12).  But behold, that which is of God inviteth and enticeth to do good continually; wherefore, every thing which inviteth and enticeth to do good, and to love God, and to serve him, is inspired of God (v. 13).”  The fact is that everything good is of God and anything else is of Satan.  Or in other words, everything that is righteous is of God and anything unrighteous is not.

“For behold, the Spirit of Christ is given to every man, that he may know good from evil; wherefore, I show unto you the way to judge; for every thing which inviteth to do good, and to persuade to believe in Christ, is sent forth by the power and gift of Christ; wherefore ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of God (v. 16).  But whatsoever thing persuadeth men to do evil, and believe not in Christ, and deny him, and serve not God, then ye may know with a perfect knowledge it is of the devil; for after this manner doth the devil work, for he persuadeth no man to do good, no, not one; neither do his angels; neither do they who subject themselves unto him (v. 17).”  All men are give the spirit as a guide to know what is good and what is evil.  This is not specific to those who have been given the gift of the Holy Ghost.  Because it is the Spirit of Christ, it can lead us to Him.  If we choose to follow the Spirit and choose that which is good, we will find ourselves drawn closer to Christ.

“And now, my brethren, seeing that ye know the light by which ye may judge, which light is the light of Christ, see that ye do not judge wrongfully; for with that same judgment which ye judge ye shall also be judged (v. 18 ).  Wherefore, I beseech of you, brethren, that ye should search diligently in the light of Christ that ye may know good from evil; and if ye will lay hold upon every good thing, and condemn it not, ye certainly will be a child of Christ (v. 19).”  We need to use the light of Christ to judge righteously between good and evil.  Once we see the difference between what is good and evil, we are obligated to choose the good.  If we choose the things that are good we can “be a child of Christ”.

I am glad that I have the ability to feel what is good or what is evil.  It gives me strength and confidence to know that I have chosen the thing that is right.  I have been blessed to see the truth amid the lies in the world around me because I have prayed for help to see.  The light in the world today is becoming blurred by all of the many temptations of Satan and I am grateful that I have things in my life to keep me aware.  I am so grateful for the scriptures and words of the modern prophets, as well as constant prayer, which keep my eyes focused on the light.

How do we obtain faith?  What are the blessings of faith?

Faith is a Sunrise

Following the Spirit can be a lot like trying to hear a quite voice when a loud voice is guiding us away from our goal.  We can distiguish which voice is the right voice, by where it leads us.  If every time we followed it, we ended up running into a wall, we would learn quickly that it was not the voice to listen to.  The voice of the Spirit will never lead us into walls or anything like that.  As we come to trust in the voice of the Spirit, we will be able to hear it better.  In Alma 32:21 we read, “And now as I said concerning faith-faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.”  Also in Ether 12:6 we read, “And now, I, Moroni, would speak somewhat concerning these things; faith is things which are hoped for and not seen; wherefore, dispute not because ye see not, for ye receive no witness until after the trial of your faith.”  Faith is learning to trust the Spirit even though you have not seen for yourself.

“And now, my brethren, how is it possible that ye can lay hold upon every good thing (v. 20)?  And now I come to that faith, of which I said I would speak; and I will tell you the way whereby ye may lay hold on every good thing (v. 21).”  Faith is an action word.  We exercise faith when we follow the spirit and trust that it will lead us to that which is good and righteous.  The more confidence we gain from exercising this faith, the more we can be led to other good and righteous things.

Moroni goes on to teach more wonderful things based on faith.  He teaches that God sent angels to show men that Christ would come (v. 22).  Moroni tells us that God told the prophets that Christ would come (v. 23).  He tells us that everything good comes from Christ and without Christ we would remain fallen (v. 24).  He teaches that by faith, the people prepared for the coming of Christ (v. 25).  He teaches that many were saved by faith even after Christ came and that we can be blessed by faith even now.  “. . . And as surely as Christ liveth he spake these words unto our fathers, saying: Whatsoever thing ye shall ask the Father in my name, which is good, in faith believing that ye shall receive, behold, it shall be done unto you (v. 26).”

Moroni teaches that miracles, even the ministering of angels, can still happen as long as we have faith in Christ (v. 27-29).  Ministering angels are to show themselves to those with great faith and to guide people to repent and do the Lord’s will.  They also declare the word of God to those who are chosen by God, so that they will testify to all people of God (v. 30-31).  Moroni teaches us that by these testimonies, we may all be able to have faith in Christ and by the power of the Holy Ghost, we can be led to make covenants with God (v. 32).  “And Christ hath said: If ye will have faith in me ye shall have power to do whatsoever thing is expedient in me (v. 33).”  Faith in Christ and His power to save us, will lead to repentance and baptism (v. 34).

Moroni teaches us that because of faith, miracles have not ceased.  He teaches that God has not held the power of the Holy Ghost from us.  And he teaches us that as long as there is man to be saved, He will never withhold the power of the Holy Ghost from us.  Without the power of faith, this life would be in vain (v. 35-37).  “For no man can be saved, according to the words of Christ, save they shall have faith in his name; wherefore, if these things have ceased, then has faith ceased also; and awful is the state of man, for they are as though there had been no redemption made (v. 38 ).  But behold, my beloved brethren, I judge better things of you, for I judge that ye have faith in Christ because of your meekness; for if ye have not faith in him then ye are not fit to be numbered among the people of his church  (v. 39).”

Without faith, there is no reason to do anything good in this life.  Faith in the saving power of the atonement and in a life after this life, makes everything we do valuable.  I am so glad that I have the gospel, which teaches me how to use faith in my life.

The gift of hope

Recently, I went through a trial that was difficult.  I received a priesthood blessing and came out with the feeling that the Lord would give me the strength to handle things whatever way it turned out.  I had faith that the Lord knew what would be best for me and if I needed a lesson I would learn from the experience.  I leaned greatly on my hope that things would all work out well in the end.  Because of the strength I received from the Lord, I took steps that were out of my comfort zone and I am sure it is because of these steps that things worked out well in the end.  “And again, my beloved brethren, I would speak unto you concerning hope. How is it that ye can attain unto faith, save ye shall have hope (v. 40)?  And what is it that ye shall hope for? Behold I say unto you that ye shall have hope through the atonement of Christ and the power of his resurrection, to be raised unto life eternal, and this because of your faith in him according to the promise (v. 41).”  Mormon tells us that we should have hope that our faith in Jesus Christ will lead to our exaltation through the power of the atonement.

In Alma 22:15-18, we read of Aaron teaching Lamoni’s father.  The king asked Aaron what he should do so that he could be filled with the spirit of Christ and be saved.  “But Aaron said unto him: If thou desirest this thing, if thou wilt bow down before God, yea, if thou wilt repent of all thy sins, and will bow down before God, and call on his name in faith, believing that ye shall receive, then shalt thou receive the hope which thou desirest (v. 16).”  The king prayed to God in faith, for forgiveness, and was struck as if he were dead.  Aaron told Lamoni that his desire to know how to be saved and have joy was a desire to have hope.  In order to gain this hope, Lamoni’s father acted in faith by praying and pleading for forgiveness.

“Wherefore, if a man have faith he must needs have hope; for without faith there cannot be any hope (v. 42).  And again, behold I say unto you that he cannot have faith and hope, save he shall be meek, and lowly of heart (v. 43).”  According to Mormon, in order to obtain hope, we must first be meek and lowly of heart.  Then through faith, the hope will come.  We live in a time of great wickedness.  We have wicked leaders and a great amount of sin and wickedness around us.  The gift of hope is needed so much to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  Those who are “peaceable followers of Christ” can receive the gift of hope as they faithfully obey the commandments and follow the prophets.

Charity

There are many righteous people who faithfully attend church each week, pay their tithing and magnify their callings.  It is difficult to consider those people “nothing”.  In 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 we read, “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal (v. 1).  And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing (v. 2).  And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing (v. 3).”  Without charity we are nothing.

“If so, his faith and hope is vain, for none is acceptable before God, save the meek and lowly in heart; and if a man be meek and lowly in heart, and confesses by the power of the Holy Ghost that Jesus is the Christ, he must needs have charity; for if he have not charity he is nothing; wherefore he must needs have charity (v. 44).”  We can live the best we know how, and do all that is asked of us, but without charity, it is in vain.  What does it mean to have charity?  “And charity suffereth long, and is kind, and envieth not, and is not puffed up, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil, and rejoiceth not in iniquity but rejoiceth in the truth, beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things (v. 45).”  To have the pure love of Christ is to be long-suffering, kind, not envious or prideful, not greedy, not quick to be provoked, righteous minded, and to believe, hope in and endure all things that are given to you.  I can think of many people in my life who are examples of each of these things.  I am constantly working on these things in my own life and I hope to someday be able to say that I have mastered them.

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, if ye have not charity, ye are nothing, for charity never faileth. Wherefore, cleave unto charity, which is the greatest of all, for all things must fail (v. 46)—But charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of it at the last day, it shall be well with him (v. 47).”  I think that having Charity is something that we work on literally each day of our lives.  It does not come easy to have the pure love of Christ, but it is something that we should all be striving for.

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen (v. 48 ).”  We can obtain charity, through sincere, heart-felt prayer to our Father in Heaven.  When we pray to be filled with the love of Christ, with the intent to show that love for others, we will have charity.

1 Response to “Moroni, Chapter 7”


  1. 1 Andrew Dijak November 10, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Thank you… I just read Moroni 7 and was pondering all it’s meaning.
    This is the cornerstone of a decision I must now make…
    to follow Christ with all my heart. To know the True promptings.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


