Moroni, Chapter 4 and 5

“To have his Spirit to be with us”

Bread and water give our bodies nourishment, strength, and energy.  To nourish, strengthen and give energy to our spirit, we attend church, read scriptures, pray, serve others, listen to the prophet and apostles, and so on.  In this chapter, Moroni teaches us how the sacrament should be blessed.

“The manner of their elders and priests administering the flesh and blood of Christ unto the church; and they administered it according to the commandments of Christ; wherefore we know the manner to be true; and the elder or priest did minister it (v. 1)—And they did kneel down with the church, and pray to the Father in the name of Christ, saying (v. 2):  O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee in the name of thy Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this bread to the souls of all those who partake of it; that they may eat in remembrance of the body of thy Son, and witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they are willing to take upon them the name of thy Son, and always remember him, and keep his commandments which he hath given them, that they may always have his Spirit to be with them. Amen (v. 3).”

“The manner of administering the wine—Behold, they took the cup, and said (v. 1):  O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee, in the name of thy Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this wine to the souls of all those who drink of it, that they may do it in remembrance of the blood of thy Son, which was shed for them; that they may witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they do always remember him, that they may have his Spirit to be with them. Amen (v. 2).”

The priesthood members bless and sanctify the bread and water for our souls.  After the bread and water are blessed, we partake of them in remembrance of the body and blood of Jesus Christ.  We do this in remembrance of the sacrifice that He made with his body and blood, so that we might live again and be exalted in the eternities.  We are promised that we will be able to have the Spirit of the Lord with us–always.  The bread and water of the sacrament nourish our spirits with the Holy Ghost.  The Holy Ghost will give us energy and strength to do all that the Lord asks of us, the same way the physical bread and water will give us the energy and strength to do what we need to do physically.

In 3 Nephi 18:7, 11 we read what the Savior taught His Nephite disciples.  “And this shall ye do in remembrance of my body, which I have shown unto you. And it shall be a testimony unto the Father that ye do always remember me. And if ye do always remember me ye shall have my Spirit to be with you (v. 7). . . And this shall ye always do to those who repent and are baptized in my name; and ye shall do it in remembrance of my blood, which I have shed for you, that ye may witness unto the Father that ye do always remember me. And if ye do always remember me ye shall have my Spirit to be with you (v. 11).”

If we always remember the Savior, then we will have his Spirit to be with us.  Taking the Sacrament each week gives us a reminder of the Savior.  If we have trouble finding time to think of him during our hectic lives, we can find the time to really contemplate his sacrifice and the atonement as we take the sacrament.  When we do this and then follow-up the sacrament by taking upon us his name and following his commandments, we will have his Spirit to guide us.  Taking upon us His name, means to act as the Savior would act and to live as He would live.  Taking the Sacrament reminds us of what we need to do to be more like the Savior.  I am so grateful for the frequent reminder that the Sacrament gives to me of the covenant I made at baptism.  I am so grateful for the sacrifice of the Savior on behalf of my soul.  I know that without his atonement, I would not be able to return to my Father in Heaven and progress in the eternities.

0 Responses to “Moroni, Chapter 4 and 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


