Mormon, Chapter 9

Moroni speaks to unbelievers, those who deny revelations, and those who believe God can do no miracles

Why do I believe in Jesus Christ?  Because when I read of him in the scriptures or hear others testify of Him, I get a warm, comforting feeling inside that makes me feel the words are true and good.  I think many do not believe in him, because they do not see him personally and they don’t recognize the witness of the spirit.

“And now, I speak also concerning those who do not believe in Christ (v. 1). . . O then ye unbelieving, turn ye unto the Lord; cry mightily unto the Father in the name of Jesus, that perhaps ye may be found spotless, pure, fair, and white, having been cleansed by the blood of the Lamb, at that great and last day (v. 6).  And again I speak unto you who deny the revelations of God, and say that they are done away, that there are no revelations, nor prophecies, nor gifts, nor healing, nor speaking with tongues, and the interpretation of tongues (v. 7) . . . And now, O all ye that have imagined up unto yourselves a god who can do no miracles, I would ask of you, have all these things passed, of which I have spoken? Has the end come yet? Behold I say unto you, Nay; and God has not ceased to be a God of miracles (v. 15). . . And now, behold, who can stand against the works of the Lord? Who can deny his sayings? Who will rise up against the almighty power of the Lord? Who will despise the works of the Lord? Who will despise the children of Christ? Behold, all ye who are despisers of the works of the Lord, for ye shall wonder and perish (v. 26).”

Moroni was speaking to those who did not believe.  I think he chose to speak to them, because they are needed in the Lord’s fold and he is forever a missionary, trying to reach those lost souls.  Many of them have a chance to read his message, when they are invited to read the Book of Mormon by friends, neighbors and the missionaries today.  I love his message to those who do not believe.  Turn to the Lord.  If you do not believe in the Savior, what harm is there in praying to God.  If someone prays sincerely to know if the words are true, they will receive a witness of the spirit that they are.  If they still choose to deny it, then they will be judged for that denial.

Moroni testifies that those who do not believe, will not be able to deny God and Jesus Christ when the second coming arrives (v. 2).  If they have chosen to deny Him, they will not be able to exist near Him because of the guilt of their consciousness (v. 3).  That existence would be worse then hell and would feel like a fire that could not stop buring (v. 4-5).  Only someone who has not read the scriptures, or does not understand them, could deny them (v. 8 ).  The gospel and God are the same through time and does not change with the times (v. 9-10).  The God that Moroni believed in, is the same God who created all things, including this earth (v. 11).  Moroni bears his testimony of the fall of Adam and consequently the fall of man.  He says that it is through Jesus Christ, that redemption comes to mankind (v. 12).  Jesus Christ made it so that we can all return to live with God again, we can all be resurrected and redeemed, and we can all be eternal beings (v. 13).  Moroni tells of the judgement of mankind and that everyone will receive their reward, whether good or bad (v. 14).

Moroni bears testimony that the creation of the world and mankind are miracles of God (v. 17).  Moroni bears testimony that Jesus Christ did many miracles and so did his apostles (v. 18 ).  Then he asks the question, if God was a God of miracles then, why would he stop being so now?  If we believe that God does not change, then he must still remain a God of miracles today (v. 19).  The only reason for stopping miracles is if the people do not believe and trust in God (v. 20).  Moroni testifies that those who believe and ask God, will receive (v. 21).  He tells us that the Savior told the apostles, “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature (v. 22); And he that believeth and is baptized shall be saved, but he that believeth not shall be damned (v. 23); And these signs shall follow them that believe—in my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; they shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick and they shall recover (v. 24); And whosoever shall believe in my name, doubting nothing, unto him will I confirm all my words, even unto the ends of the earth (v. 25).”

Moroni had a firm testimony of the Savior and His gospel.  He knew that all men needed to know of his testimony and ask for themselves if it is true.  He knew that they would receive an answer if they asked with a sincere desire to know.  Moroni knew that part of his calling in life, was to share this testimony with all of us today.

Moroni writes to us

Sometimes it can be difficult to write to someone who I have not met yet.  It can be hard to find the right words to get the message across that I desire.  When I write things with the intent for my posterity to read them, I feel a strong desire to say the perfect thing because I already have a love for them.  Mormon and Moroni cared for us, because they knew us already from the witness given to them.  This message was written for us with love.  In Mormon 8:35 we learned that he was writing to those who did not exist on the earth yet.  “Behold, I speak unto you as though I spake from the dead; for I know that ye shall have my words (v. 30).” He speaks to us who would come after he was gone from the earth.  I feel blessed to know that this wonderful message and testimony was for my benefit.

“O then despise not, and wonder not, but hearken unto the words of the Lord, and ask the Father in the name of Jesus for what things soever ye shall stand in need. Doubt not, but be believing, and begin as in times of old, and come unto the Lord with all your heart, and work out your own salvation with fear and trembling before him (v. 27).  Be wise in the days of your probation; strip yourselves of all uncleanness; ask not, that ye may consume it on your lusts, but ask with a firmness unshaken, that ye will yield to no temptation, but that ye will serve the true and living God (v. 28 ). See that ye are not baptized unworthily; see that ye partake not of the sacrament of Christ unworthily; but see that ye do all things in worthiness, and do it in the name of Jesus Christ, the Son of the living God; and if ye do this, and endure to the end, ye will in nowise be cast out (v. 29).”

This message is clear to me.  Read and heed the words of the scriptures and pray for things that we need.  If we are believing and asking for those things that are righteous, we will receive.  Do not make covenants that we do not intent to keep.  We need to remain worthy and endure to the end.  If we do these things, we will not be cast out of the presence of our Father in Heaven.  What a wonderful message that is.

What does Moroni request of us?

“Condemn me not because of mine imperfection, neither my father, because of his imperfection, neither them who have written before him; but rather give thanks unto God that he hath made manifest unto you our imperfections, that ye may learn to be more wise than we have been (v. 31).”  Moroni knows that he is just a man doing the will of God.  He wants us to remember that man is flawed, but God is not.  He does not think of himself as some wonderful man who deserves the credit for the work he has done.  He only did what he was commanded to do with faith and by the guidance of the spirit.  We are all imperfect beings.  I often get down on myself for not being perfect in the things I try to do.  I can learn a lesson from Moroni, whom I look up to.  I am not perfect, but the Lord is.  If I do all that I can, the Lord will make the things I do what they should be.  As a parent, I am always hoping that my children will see my mistakes as things that they might be better at than I have been.  Moroni wants each of us to do better than he feels he did.  This is a wonderful thing to aspire to, because we know that Moroni was a great man in the gospel.

What are some significant facts about the Book of Mormon?

“And now, behold, we have written this record according to our knowledge, in the characters which are called among us the reformed Egyptian, being handed down and altered by us, according to our manner of speech (v. 32).  And if our plates had been sufficiently large we should have written in Hebrew; but the Hebrew hath been altered by us also; and if we could have written in Hebrew, behold, ye would have had no imperfection in our record (v. 33).  But the Lord knoweth the things which we have written, and also that none other people knoweth our language; and because that none other people knoweth our language, therefore he hath prepared means for the interpretation thereof (v. 34).”

This reformed Egyptian was chosen to be written on the plates, so that the translation could only be done by the power of God.  The advantages that Moroni speaks of include that it took less space to write in this language and was their standard language.  The disadvantages included that it would be more difficult to translate because no one else knew this language.  The Lord gave Joseph Smith the power to translate this reformed Egyptian, through the use of the Urim and Thummim.  There are those who claim that the Book of Mormon is a made up book.  I cannot imagine a possible way for Joseph Smith, an unlearned country boy, to make this amazing record up.  There were witnesses to the strange characters written on the plates and I believe their words.  They did see the plates and Joseph Smith did translate them with help from the Urim and Thummim.  It is not a made up book, it is a holy book that was written for us today.

Moroni ends his testimony with these words, “And these things are written that we may rid our garments of the blood of our brethren, who have dwindled in unbelief (v. 35).  And behold, these things which we have desired concerning our brethren, yea, even their restoration to the knowledge of Christ, are according to the prayers of all the saints who have dwelt in the land (v. 36).  And may the Lord Jesus Christ grant that their prayers may be answered according to their faith; and may God the Father remember the covenant which he hath made with the house of Israel; and may he bless them forever, through faith on the name of Jesus Christ. Amen (v. 37).”  I am grateful for this testimony.  I am grateful to Mormon and his son Moroni.  For their faithful willingness to do their duty to God.  I am grateful for the power that was given to Joseph Smith, to restore the gospel and to translate this marvelous book for my benefit.  I am grateful for the strength that these words give to my personal testimony.

0 Responses to “Mormon, Chapter 9”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


