Mosiah, Chapter 16

Who will be excluded from the redemption?

It’s hard to truly imagine what it will be like when the Savior comes again.  I think that the only way to come close is to think about the things that happened before that we read about in the scriptures.  How was it for the Nephites when the Savior appeared to them?  I pray that if it should happen in my lifetime, that I will be prepared and that my family will also.  If the Savior came tomorrow, I think I’m doing pretty well in my life, but there are always areas that I may be falling a little short, and I would hope that I would be in the process of becoming better.  I’m looking forward to His coming with hope and excitement.

“And now, it came to pass that after Abinadi had spoken these words he stretched forth his hand and said: The time shall come when all shall see the salvation of the Lord; when every nation, kindred, tongue, and people shall see eye to eye and shall confess before God that his judgments are just (v. 1).”  Everyone in every nation will see the salvation of the Lord.

“And then shall the wicked be cast out, and they shall have cause to howl, and weep, and wail, and gnash their teeth; and this because they would not hearken unto the voice of the Lord; therefore the Lord redeemeth them not (v. 2).”  All the wicked will realize how they have lived and will be in torment as they are cast out.  They will be punished for not listening to the voice of the Lord and they will be really upset by this.

“For they are carnal and devilish, and the devil has power over them; yea, even that old serpent that did beguile our first parents, which was the cause of their fall; which was the cause of all mankind becoming carnal, sensual, devilish, knowing evil from good, subjecting themselves to the devil (v. 3).”  If they have refused to obey, it is because have allowed Satan to have power over them.

“Thus all mankind were lost; and behold, they would have been endlessly lost were it not that God redeemed his people from their lost and fallen state (v. 4).”  Had it not been for the Savior’s redemption, we all should have been lost.  If we do not use His redemption in our lives, we will be lost.

“But remember that he that persists in his own carnal nature, and goes on in the ways of sin and rebellion against God, remaineth in his fallen state and the devil hath all power over him. Therefore he is as though there was no redemption made, being an enemy to God; and also is the devil an enemy to God (v. 5).”  Those who choose this path, cannot be redeemed because they are an enemy to God along with Satan.  In order to be redeemed, we must deny the natural man and hearken to the voice of the Lord.  We hearken to the Lord by listening to the Holy Ghost, by reading the scriptures, by listening to the prophets and general authorities, and by listening to our parents who should be living righteously and guiding us in that path as well.  If we choose not to hearken to the voice of the Lord through these things, we choose to follow Satan and give Him our agency.

I am so grateful for the promptings of the spirit.  They are truly a blessing in my life.  I love the scriptures and I know that they are the words of the Lord.  I love the general authorities and I feel the spirit when they speak.  They have been called of the Lord to guide us today.  I love my parents and I know that they have always tried to help me to live a good life.  I know that if I follow these things I will not fear the coming of the Lord.  I will continue to be excited because those who are prepared, need not fear.

How can we see in the dark?

When I am in the dark, I feel a bit lost.  I look forward to the time when I can find a light switch so that I can find my way.  Sometimes darkness gives me an uneasiness and anxiety.  I could not imagine a world without the sun.  It gives me hope to know that the sun will rise in the morning each day.

“He is the light and the life of the world; yea, a light that is endless, that can never be darkened; yea, and also a life which is endless, that there can be no more death (v. 9).”  Jesus Christ is the light of the world.  When the light of Christ is there, darkness fails.

Darkness is the wicked (v. 2), the devilish and carnal (v. 3), being lost (v. 4), being an enemy to God (v. 5), having no redemption (v. 6), and having death without the resurrection (v. 7).

People today are living in darkness as they give in to the natural man-by calling evil, good and good, evil.  Some are living in darkness because they have not yet heard of the gospel, while others are willing choosing to deny it.  Many deny that their is a God or Christ.

The Savior and His gospel bring light to the darkened world.  Their is a hope in the gospel through the sacrifice that the Savior gave for mankind.  When I have allowed Christ into my life, I have felt a safety and security that comes with nothing else.  Knowing why we are living this life, gives me direction and happiness.  Using the atonement in my life gives me peace and comfort when I am forgiven.  Christ is willing to give His light to all mankind.  All we have to do is receive it.  And when we have it, we need to share it with others so that they can find their way out of the darkness as well.

What if Christ had not come?

If Christ had not come, I think that the world would be a sad place.  Without Christ their is no hope for salvation after this life.  One sin would mean eternal misery, so everyone would live this life for the immediate pleasures that can be found here.  There would be so much more sin.  There would be no reason to be good, kind, and loving people.  Everyone would be a bit more selfish.  Satan would be in control of all of us.

According to Abinadi, if Christ had not come, there would be no redemption (v. 6) and no resurrection (v. 7).  Redemption is “the sacrificial work of Jesus Christ and our deliverance from sin (Bible Dictionary).”  Resurrection is “the uniting of a spirit body with a body of flesh and bones, never again to be divided… to become immortal, without blood, yet with a body of flesh and bone (Bible Dictionary).”

If their was no redemption, we would all live forever in our sins.  And if their was no resurrection than no one could ever live again, but we would remain in death.  Without these things, there would be no joy to have in a life after this one on Earth.  In 2 Nephi, chapter 9 we read, “O the wisdom of God, his mercy and grace! For behold, if the flesh should rise no more our spirits must become subject to that angel who fell from before the presence of the Eternal God, and became the devil, to rise no more (v. 8 ).  And our spirits must have become like unto him, and we become devils, angels to a devil, to be shut out from the presence of our God, and to remain with the father of lies, in misery, like unto himself; yea, to that being who beguiled our first parents, who transformeth himself nigh unto an angel of light, and stirreth up the children of men unto secret combinations of murder and all manner of secret works of darkness (v. 9).”  Without the Savior, we would all become subject to Satan and be his angels.  We would never be allowed to see our Father in Heaven again.

Jesus made joy in the eternities possible for us all.  “But there is a resurrection, therefore the grave hath no victory, and the sting of death is swallowed up in Christ (v. 8 ).”  Jesus sacrifice for our sins and died for us so that we could be forgiven of all our wrongs.  Then he was resurrected so that we could all live again.  We owe all that we have to Him and all He asks of us is that we try our best to live worthy of this gift.  We will always fall just short of perfect, but He will make up the differences for us if we are truly trying to do what is right.

Why do we need to be saved from our sins?

Being lost is not an enjoyable experience for me.  It gives me a feeling of fear, because I don’t know what to do next.  In the past several years I’ve gotten lost a few times as I have driven somewhere new by myself.  Thankfully, I’ve had a cellphone and with a prayer in my heart, I’ve called my husband who could look up where I was and lead me to my destination safely.

“Thus all mankind were lost; and behold, they would have been endlessly lost were it not that God redeemed his people from their lost and fallen state (v.4).”  We would be lost spiritually and endlessly if it weren’t for the Savior and the atonement. President Ezra Taft Benson said, “Just as a man does not really desire food until he is hungry, so he does not desire the salvation of Christ until he knows why he needs Christ.  No one adequately and properly knows why he needs Christ until he understands and accepts the doctrine of the Fall and its effect upon mankind.”  According to President Benson, we cannot fully appreciate Christ and the salvation he brings if we don’t understand the effects of the Fall.  When we understand that because Adam and Eve were sent out of the Garden of Eden because they were no longer perfect.  They could no longer be in the presence of our Father in Heaven, because no unclean thing can dwell with him.  Without the salvation that Christ has given to man through His atonement, no man could be forgiven of his sins.  No one could be saved without Christ.

“And now, ought ye not to tremble and repent of your sins, and remember that only in and through Christ ye can be saved (v. 13)?  Therefore, if ye teach the law of Moses, also teach that it is a shadow of those things which are to come (v. 14)—Teach them that redemption cometh through Christ the Lord, who is the very Eternal Father. Amen (v. 15).”  Abinadi has told King Noah and his priests that they should fear unless they teach the people that the law of Moses is only to prepare them for the coming of Christ and that it is only through Christ that man can be saved.  I feel blessed to live now, when Christ has already come and we are preparing for His second coming.  I am so grateful to have the scriptures in my life to teach me how to live and what has happened in the past that I should learn from.  I am grateful for the testimony of people like Abinadi.  I pray that I can be as strong in the face of adversity and that the knowledge of the purpose of life continues to get clearer for me.  I know that Jesus Christ has provided the only way for us to be saved.  I have felt the sense of peace and comfort that comes from using His atonement in my life to be forgiven of my sins.  I am forever grateful for what He has done for me as an individual.  I am so glad that I have the opportunity to live with my family forever if I can live righteously.

And now, it came to pass that after Abinadi had spoken these words he stretched forth his hand and said: The time shall come when all shall see the asalvation of the Lord; when bevery nation, kindred, tongue, and people shall see eye to eye and shall cconfess before God that his djudgments are just.
2 And then shall the awicked be bcast out, and they shall have cause to howl, and cweep, and wail, and gnash their teeth; and this because they would not dhearken unto the voice of the Lord; therefore the Lord redeemeth them not.
3 For they are acarnal and devilish, and the devil has power over them; yea, even that old serpent that did bbeguile our first parents, which was the ccause of their fall; which was the cause of dall mankind becoming carnal, sensual, devilish, eknowing evil from good, fsubjecting themselves to the devil.
4 Thus all mankind were alost; and behold, they would have been endlessly lost were it not that God redeemed his people from their lost and fallen state.
5 But remember that he that persists in his own acarnal nature, and goes on in the ways of sin and rebellion against God, remaineth in his fallen state and the bdevil hath all power over him. Therefore he is as though there was no credemption made, being an enemy to God; and also is the ddevil an enemy to God.
2 Responses to “Mosiah, Chapter 16”


  1. 1 trapperhoney June 23, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Have you ever experienced total darkness? It is hard for many people to understand evil and darkness as the same, because most of us only experience darkness at night, and there is SOME light. Even out in the woods away from city lights, there is the moon and stars, even on overcast evenings. This kind of darkness is not scary, and in some cases is even fun. People look at sin the same way. BUT, if you ever experience total darkness (usually in a cave on a guided tour) THEN you understand why sin and evil is compared to darkness.

    • 2 maryrubow June 24, 2009 at 5:49 am

      That makes sense. Sometimes people continue to sin because they can still see a little light, but those people who truly hit “rock bottom” are those who can’t find the light any more. The little light gives the sense that we can still find our way on our own and don’t need any help. When we are in total darkness, there is nowhere to turn except to God, but the guilt and sorrow of evil is the heaviest then and it can be hardest to believe that God will be there for us when we’ve done so much wrong.
      I think at times like these, those who have the light of the gospel are needed most. We know that the atonement is always there and we need to be the instrument in the Lord’s hands to show those in darkness that there is a way out.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


