Mosiah, Chapter 3

An angel teaches a king

“And the things which I shall tell you are made known unto me by an angel from God. And he said unto me: Awake; and I awoke, and behold he stood before me (v. 2).”  An angel came to King Benjamin and taught him.  The angel taught him things of great joy (v. 3), just as in Luke 2:10, when the angel brought news of the birth of the Savior.  “And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.”  The message of the coming of Christ brought joy and the message we have now of Christ and his gospel, should also bring great joy.  Joy comes from knowing that through Jesus Christ we all can live together with our Father in Heaven again.

What service did the Savior give?

Serving others brings happiness to my life.  I think one of the greatest blessings that comes from serving others, is that I forget the trials and sorrows of my own life.  The joy I feel is only a small percentage of the joy that is brought through the Savior’s service.

“And lo, he shall suffer temptations, and pain of body, hunger, thirst, and fatigue, even more than man can suffer, except it be unto death; for behold, blood cometh from every pore, so great shall be his anguish for the wickedness and the abominations of his people (v. 7).”  The Savior’s service to me of the atonement, is the greatest because he suffered my pain and anguish and the guilt of my sins, so that I can repent and forget these things and instead have joy and hope.  “And moreover, I say unto you, that there shall be no other name given nor any other way nor means whereby salvation can come unto the children of men, only in and through the name of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent (v. 17).”  Only the Savior could give us this gift.  He was pure, righteous to perfection, and the Son of God, and yet suffered for all mankind.  This is the only way that we could be saved.

In D&C 18:10-13 we read, “Remember the worth of souls is great in the sight of God (v. 10); For, behold, the Lord your Redeemer suffered death in the flesh; wherefore he suffered the pain of all men, that all men might repent and come unto him (v. 11).  And he hath risen again from the dead, that he might bring all men unto him, on conditions of repentance (v. 12).  And how great is his joy in the soul that repenteth (v. 13)!”  Christ wants us to come unto Him, but we can only do this through the process of repentance.

Who enjoys the cleansing benefits of the Atonement?

“For behold, and also his blood atoneth for the sins of those who have fallen by the transgression of Adam, who have died not knowing the will of God concerning them, or who have ignorantly sinned (v.11).”  Those who do not know that they have sinned because they do not know what the sin is, are covered by the atonement.  They are those who have not heard of the gospel of Jesus Christ or the scriptures and ancient prophets before the Savior came.

“And even if it were possible that little children could sin they could not be saved; but I say unto you they are blessed; for behold, as in Adam, or by nature, they fall, even so the blood of Christ atoneth for their sins (v. 16).”  Children, who are all innocent, are covered by the atonement.  We believe that children are not held accountable for sin until the age of 8, when they can be baptized and receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.  “Wherefore, they cannot sin, for power is not given unto Satan to tempt little children, until they begin to become accountable before me (D&C 29:47);”

“For behold he judgeth, and his judgment is just; and the infant perisheth not that dieth in his infancy; but men drink damnation to their own souls except they humble themselves and become as little children, and believe that salvation was, and is, and is to come, in and through the atoning blood of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent (v. 18).”  Infants who die in infancy are covered by the atonement, as well as those who have sinned, but who have used the atonement in their lives and repented.  Most of us can fit in this category, if we become as the little child who cannot be tempted and humble ourselves through repentance.  

Putting off the natural man and why you might want to

“For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord, and becometh as a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his father (v. 19).”  The natural man is like a river, because we have appetites and hungers that we are born with that are easy to follow.  The natural man will follow these things because it is easier than doing what is right, the same way a river takes the path of lease resistance.  The Saint on the other hand will build a canal, which avoids those temptations and leads directly to our goal, which is life with our Father in Heaven.  If we choose the path of least resistance, which does not follow the commandments of our Father in Heaven, we become His enemies.  This is because no man can serve two masters and if you are not doing what the Lord has asked, you are on the side of Satan.

We can put off the natural man by becoming submissive to the will of the Lord, by being humble enough to realize we do not know what is best for us, by being patient through our trials rather than giving in to our temptations that hide trials with addictions and such, become full of love for our fellow men and serving them, and being an instrument in the Lord’s hands.  I plan on working on being full of love this week.  I am going to try harder to serve others and show them the Love of Christ.

0 Responses to “Mosiah, Chapter 3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


