2 Nephi, Chapter 7

God has not moved

In verse 1, Isaiah uses words we use in family relationships to describe the relationship between the Children of Israel and the Lord.  The Lord had not “divorced” them and He did not cut them off.  The Lord does not cut us off.  The natural man blames God for divorcing Himself from us in times of need, but in fact, we do it by our actions.  The children of Israel had divorced themselves from the Lord, they sold themselves to others by their sins.

If we are further from the Lord today,we moved.  The Lord is immovable.  He will always be there.

We separate ourselves from the Lord as we commit sins and do not repent.  The Lord cannot dwell with sinners.  We learn in  1 Ne. 10: 21, “Wherefore, if ye have sought to do wickedly in the days of your probation, then ye are found unclean before the judgment-seat of God; and no unclean thing can dwell with God; wherefore, ye must be cast off forever.”

In order to move closer to the Lord, we need to repent of our sins and make an effort to keep the spirit with us all day, every day.

Jesus-Portrait

Christ’s willing gift for us

In this chapter, Isaiah is speaking messianically, meaning he is speaking the words of the messiah, Jesus Christ (speaking of the Savior).

The Lord has power to redeem us, deliver us, and dry up waters (v. 2 ); make the sky black (v 3 ); speak with a learned tongue and hear with learned ears (v. 4 ); smite with his mouth (v. 8 ); and has power of God to age those who condemn him (v. 9 ).

When He, the Savior, was born on the earth, He dealt with all the smiting that others inflicted upon Him, but he had God with Him and was not ashamed to do the work He was called to do.  He endured it, even though He had the power to not go through it.  The Savior had more power than any man and could perform miracles, but He endured it for my salvation.  He gave, undoubtedly, the best gift ever given.

Who walks in darkness and sorrow?

In verse 10 He asks, “Who is among you that feareth the Lord, that obeyeth the voice of his servant, that walketh in darkness and hath no light?”  If we obey God’s prophets, the Savior, and His commandments, we will have the light of God to guide us.  In John 8:12 we learn that Jesus is the light of the world and if we follow Him, we will not walk in darkness.

In verse 11 we see that the wicked use the light that they kindle.  When you walk in your own light, instead of His, you shall lie down in sorrow.

I love light.  When I am home and it is dark, I feel the need to turn on the lights.  I’m not scared of the dark, but I do not like the feeling of the dark.  Darkness cannot exist where there is light and that is a comforting thought.  When I’ve sinned and go down the wrong path, I realize that I get lost, and I feel that same lost feeling when I am in darkness.  I would never want to willing choose darkness over light.

1 Response to “2 Nephi, Chapter 7”


  1. 1 a rubow January 19, 2009 at 10:16 am

    As I was reading this chapter, it brought to my mind the “First Presidency Message” found in this month’s [January 2009] Ensign. It is by President Henry B. Eyring, First Counselor in the First Presidency, entitled: “Let Us Raise Our Voice of Warning”. He starts out by saying: “Because the Lord is kind, He calls servants to warn people of danger. That call to warn is made harder and more important by the fact that the warnings of most worth are about dangers that people don’t yet think are real. Think of Jonah. He fled at first from the Lord’s call to warn the people of Nineveh who were blinded to the danger by sin. He knew that wicked people through the ages have rejected prophets and sometimes killed them. Yet when Jonah went forward with faith, the Lord blessed him with safety and success.”

    We, who have been baptized, have covenanted that we would be a witness for Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ, that we would take upon us the name of our Savior, Jesus Christ and always remember Him, and keep His commandments which He has given us. Christ has promised that if we do so, we may always have his Spirit to be with us.

    This chapter starts out: “Yea, for thus saith the Lord: Have I put thee away, or have I cast thee off forever? For thus saith the Lord: Where is the bill of your mother’s divorcement? To whom have I put thee away, or to which of my creditors have I sold you? Yea, to whom have I sold you? Behold, for your iniquities have ye sold yourselves, and for your transgressions is your mother put away.

    Evidently, this verse is speaking to those who have been baptized and yet have forgotten to live up to Gospel Standards. They have forgotten the things of God. Isaiah reminds us that if it seems that the Lord has forgotten us, it is not because the Lord decreed it to be so and cut us off from Him. It is because we cut ourselves off from Heavenly Father. We moved so far away from the Lord that we could not hear His voice.

    Verse 2: “Wherefore, when I came, there was no man; when I called, yea, there was none to answer. O house of Israel, is my hand shortened at all that it cannot redeem, or have I no power to deliver?”

    When the Lord came to help us out of our afflictions, it was like there was no one there. There was no one praying; no one reading the scriptures, no one serving his fellow man, no one paying his tithing, no one keeping the Sabbath Day holy, no one listening to the voice of the Spirit, etc. As I was reading this passage, I could almost hear the words found in Genesis 3:8-10.

    “And they heard the voice of the Lord God walking in the garden in the cool of the day: and Adam and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the Lord God amongst the trees of the garden.
    “And the Lord God called unto Adam, and said unto him, Where art thou?
    “And he said, I heard thy voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself.

    How about a change in a few words. And she heard the voice of the Lord God… and she hid herself from the presence of the Lord God… And the Lord God called unto her, and said unto her, “Where art thou?” and she said, “I heard thy voice … and I was afraid because I have not shared my testimony; and I hid myself.” And He said unto her: “Oh, my daughter. Ye of little faith. Is my hand shortened at all that it cannot redeem, or have I no power to deliver?” At this point, what is my answer? Do I walk further away from Him or do I repent and begin to exercise faith in a loving Heavenly Father and in His Son, the Lord, Jesus Christ? Is my testimony strong enough to withstand the adversities of life and strong enough to be a witness for Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ? If not, what can I do to strengthen my testimony? Am I willing to take the time to pray; to read, study and ponder on the scriptures; to attend Church regularly; to keep the Sabbath Day holy; to have regular Family Home Evenings; to go to the temple; to do my Visiting Teaching; to be of service to my family, friends and neighbors; to search out my kindred dead; to acknowledge and show thanks for my blessings; etc.? Do I choose to accept all the help [prophets, bishops, scriptures, teachers, family, good friends, Home and Visiting Teachers, the Holy Ghost, prayer, temples, talents, etc.] Heavenly Father has given me to love me, to strengthen me, to encourage me, and to help me to grow? Do I show gratitude to my Heavenly Father by reaching out and sharing some of that love and strength that I have received with others when they are going through hard times?

    I am trying to strengthen my testimony. However, there are times when I make wrong choices. I worry that sometimes my example might turn someone away from learning about Heavenly Father and Jesus. Heavenly Father, however, will help me, if I repent and earnestly try to make right choices. President Eyring does speak to me when he states: “Perhaps some of us may find it hard to believe that we love enough or that our lives are good enough or that our power to testify is sufficient for our invitations to our neighbors to be accepted. But the Lord knew we might feel that way. Listen to His encouraging words, which He directed to be placed at the first of the Doctrine and Covenants, when He gave us our charge: ‘And the voice of warning shall be unto all people, by the mouths of my disciples, whom I have chosen in these last days’ (D&C 1:4).
    “And then listen to His description of the qualifications of those disciples—of us: ‘The weak things of the world shall come forth and break down the mighty and strong ones’ (D&C 1:19).
    “And then later: ‘That the fulness of my gospel might be proclaimed by the weak and the simple unto the ends of the world’ (D&C 1:23).
    “And then again: ‘And inasmuch as they [are] humble they might be made strong, and blessed from on high’ (D&C 1:28).
    “That assurance was given to the first missionaries in the Church and to missionaries today. But it is given to all of us as well. We must have the faith that we can love enough and that the gospel has touched our lives enough that our invitation to choose can be heard as coming from the Master whose invitation it is.
    “His is the perfect example for what we are to do. You have felt His love and His caring even when you did not respond, as those you approach with the gospel may not respond. Time after time He has invited you to be taught by His servants. You may not have recognized that in the visits of home teachers and visiting teachers or in a bishop’s phone call, but those were His invitations to be helped and taught. And the Lord has always made consequences clear and then allowed us to choose for ourselves.
    “What the Lord’s servant Lehi taught his sons has always been true for all of us: ‘And now, my sons, I would that ye should look to the great Mediator, and hearken unto his great commandments; and be faithful unto his words, and choose eternal life, according to the will of his Holy Spirit’ (2 Nephi 2:28).
    “And then from Jacob we receive this encouragement to meet our obligation to testify, as we must, that choosing to be taught by the missionaries is choosing to enter the way toward eternal life, the greatest of all the gifts of God: ‘Therefore, cheer up your hearts, and remember that ye are free to act for yourselves—to choose the way of everlasting death or the way of eternal life’ (2 Nephi 10:23).
    “I testify that only accepting and living the restored gospel of Jesus Christ brings the peace the Lord promised in this life and the hope of eternal life in the world to come. I testify that we have been given the privilege and the obligation to offer the truth and the choices which lead to those blessings to our Heavenly Father’s children, who are our brothers and our sisters. Jesus is the Christ, He lives, and this is His work.”

    Heavenly Father promises that as we exercise faith in Him, we will be blessed with His Spirit. Our testimony can be strong enough to withstand the adversities of life, because we will know that Heavenly Father is there to love us, to guide us, to support us, and to strengthen us.

    Can I say words similar to the words found in verses 4-9?
    “The Lord God hath given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season unto thee, O house of Israel. When ye are weary he waketh morning by morning. He waketh mine ear to hear as the learned.
    “The Lord God hath opened mine ear, and I was not rebellious, neither turned away back.
    “I gave my back to the smiter, and my cheeks to them that plucked off the hair. I hid not my face from shame and spitting.
    “For the Lord God will help me, therefore shall I not be confounded. Therefore have I set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be ashamed.
    “And the Lord is near, and he justifieth me. Who will contend with me? Let us stand together. Who is mine adversary? Let him come near me, and I will smite him with the strength of my mouth.
    “For the Lord God will help me. And all they who shall condemn me, behold, all they shall wax old as a garment, and the moth shall eat them up.”

    I have a bit of work to do to strengthen my testimony and to show others by my example the blessings of choosing the right. But Heavenly Father will help me. Next time I hope to both hear Him when He calls and to be able to answer “Here am I. Send me.”


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


