1 Nephi, Chapter 19

Two Sets of Plates

On the large plates (“first plates” or “other plates”), Nephi wrote the genealogy of Lehi and most of what happened in the wilderness.  Also, he gave a greater account of the wars, contentions and destruction of the Nephites.  The small plates (“these plates”) contain the ministry and prophesies or the more plain and precious parts for instruction, to be handed down through generations.  These small plates are of greater value because they contain the gospel truths that the larger plates did not contain.

In D&C 10:1 we learn that the translation of 116 pages of the large plates (translated first) was lost, never to be translated again.  In D&C 10:10-14, Satan put the idea into the men’s hearts to change what Joseph had translated, but God would not allow Joseph to translate them again, so that they wouldn’t be able to use it against Joseph and the church.  Then in D&C 10:38-42, it says that instead, a smaller portion of the information was translated from the Book of Nephi, so the wicked would not be able to corrupt the words further.  

It is awesome to know that Nephi was told to write things down that he knew were found in his father’s records.  The Lord’s plan for these was revealed through Joseph Smith.  There is a plan of the Lord’s and it is wise and serves purposes beyond our understanding.

How do people trample God under their feet?

I love America.  I feel blessed to live here and therefore I feel strongly about showing respect for my country.  When people love their country they are very offended by people who do offensive things towards it, such as flag burners.  In addition, I consider my family values, scriptures, covenants, promises, and relationships special and sacred.  When people make fun of these things, I get defensive and upset.

Verse 17 explains how men trample God under their feet.  “I say, trample under their feet but I would speak in other words—they set him at naught, and hearken not to the voice of his counsels.”  Men trample God under their feet when they hear his commandments, counsel and doctrine and choose to ignore or disobey it.

List the prophecies of Jesus Christ’s life

Nephi prophecies of the life of Christ in this chapter.  He writes that Jesus will come 600 years from when Lehi left Jerusalem (v. 8).  The people will see Him as nothing, scourge Him, smite Him, and spit on Him (v. 9).  He will allow Himself to be crucified and buried in a sepulcher (v. 10). He will visit the people with His voice and with thundering, lightnings, tempest,fire, smoke, vapor of darkness, opening of the earth and raising of mountains (v. 11).

Jesus suffered at the hands of the Israelites because of His loving kindness and long-suffereing towards men.  When I make the choice not to retaliate when someone wrongs me, I feel a sense of strength.  I feel in control of my emotions and I know I feel better than I would if I had done something in return.

Who Were Zenock, Neum, and Zenos?

Zenock, Neum and Zenos lived before 600 BC, when Nephi got the plates from Laban.  We know this because Nephi is telling about their prophecies that he has read on the plates.  They are not in the Bible, but were living during the times in the bible, so their prophecies of Christ were part of the lost scripture, removed as the bible was changed by man.  It is sad to know that not all men have had the words of these prophets, but if these prophecies were there in the Bible, there is no way Christ could have been denied by believers of the scriptures of Israel.

Why were the Jews scattered, and when will they be gathered?

The Israelites were scattered because they rejected the Savior and Christians saw them as wrong. Verse 14 says, “And because they turn their hearts aside, saith the prophet, and have despised the Holy One of Israel, they shall wander in the flesh, and perish, and become a hiss and a byword, and be hated among all nations.”  The Israelites would be taken into bondage, wander and perish.  In order for them to be brought back together they must accept the Savior, Jesus Christ.  I am an extension of Israel that was broken apart, but because I have accepted Christ as the Savior, love Him and do what I can to follow the commandments of God, I have been accepted into His fold.

What does it mean to “liken” the scriptures to ourselves?

I love verse 23, which I believe was a scripture mastery.  It says, “And I did read many things unto them which were written in the books of Moses; but that I might more fully persuade them to believe in the Lord their Redeemer I did read unto them that which was written by the prophet Isaiah; for I did liken all scriptures unto us, that it might be for our profit and learning.”  We must liken (apply) the scriptures to us to truly understand them.  If they were not meant for us to learn, it would not be a commandment that we read them.  Journaling, as I read, is helping me to liken these scriptures to myself. It helps me to see examples of gospel principles in my life.  I know these scriptures are for us in these latter days.  If we liken these things to ourselves, we will not fail.

4 Responses to “1 Nephi, Chapter 19”


  1. 1 a rubow October 20, 2008 at 9:52 am

    This chapter has a lot of verses which touch me. I will mention a few. In that there are quite a number of points, this might take a few posts to touch on them. Today I will talk about verse 7.

    1 Nephi 19:7 “For the things which some men esteem to be of great worth, both to the body and soul, others set at naught and trample under their feet. Yea, even the very God of Israel do men trample under their feet; I say, trample under their feet but I would speak in other words—they set him at naught, and hearken not to the voice of his counsels.”
    We are going through this in the “world” today. There are so many things which I consider to be of great worth. Here are some of them and what the “world” is trying to do with them.
    I consider that faith in the Lord Jesus Christ to be of great worth. Some people want to take “Faith in Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ” out of Government. If someone has faith and says that what he believes determines his daily actions, then he is mocked, considered to be an idiot, and unworthy to lead. Schools are doing whatever they can to discourage faith in God. In some places, some people have even been seriously injured or killed because of their faith in God. If you mention God in some places, you can be expelled or arrested.
    I consider that the institution of marriage to be of great worth. I believe that marriage should continue to be defined as the joining together of one man and one woman in holy matrimony. Some people would like to change that definition to be the joining together of any two unrelated people (one man to one woman, one man to another man, one woman to another woman). I believe that a child raised in a home with one father and one mother have a better chance at growing up emotionally healthy (less likely to end up on welfare, in disfunctional relationships, in jail, or dead at young age) than in other situations. Having grown up without a father myself, I can see personally some of those effects. Today, not only do some people disagree with importance of keeping the definition the same, they are trying to have judges change the law. Instead of telling people the merits of their side and “converting” them to vote their way, they want the heavy hand of “authority” to force people to their side. In Californina now we are having that vote, but some people are physically assaulting people and property of those who are standing up to defend marriage. Talk about the “trampling under of their feet”.
    I consider every fetus to be of great worth. Some consider that if a pregnancy is considered a “mistake” than abortion should be the first “choice”. Some of these same people want to take the right of parents to help guide their under-age children to make a wise choice regarding the status of the fetus away from them. I believe that we should encourage life. Some people are willing to take away the life of the fetus even to the last months of a pregnancy.
    I consider the “Bill of Rights” to be of great worth. Among other things, the *”Bill of Rights protects freedom of speech, freedom of religion, the right to keep and bear arms, the freedom of assembly, and the freedom to petition. It also prohibits unreasonable search and seizure, cruel and unusual punishment, and compelled self-incrimination.” *(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Bill_of_Rights). (http://www.law.cornell.edu/constitution/constitution.billofrights.html) Slowly but surely, it seems each of these rights are being taken away from us.
    I consider following ethical standards of behavior to be of great worth. I believe that the principles found in the Boy Scout Law and the 13th Article of Faith to be of great worth. (Boy Scout Law: A Scout is: Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean, and Reverent.) (13th Article of Faith: We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.) I think that the main reason for the failing of the economy is precisely because people in leadership positions and some of the general public were basically unethical. There are people who think that being trustworthy, loyal, helpful, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean and reverent is a thing of naught.

    I have other things which I consider to be of great worth, which the world is setting at naught and trying to trample, but to list them all that might take all day. I challenge everyone to seriously ponder on the things that they consider to be of great worth and then vote in coming elections accordingly. If people fail to do this, then we may find that the things that we consider to be of great worth are taken from us.

  2. 2 a rubow November 8, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    In my previous comment, I concerned myself mostly with verse 7. Below are some comments on a couple of other verses from this chapter.

    1 Nephi 19:9 “And the world, because of their iniquity, shall judge him to be a thing of naught; wherefore they scourge him, and he suffereth it; and they smite him, and he suffereth it. Yea, they spit upon him, and he suffereth it, because of his loving kindness and his long-suffering towards the children of men.”
    Lately, it seems that often those who stand up for their faith in God and for following His commandments are mocked as idiots or condemned as evil because they believe in a power greater than themselves. Some people are trying to limit the power of churches whose tenants include following moral standards (modesty, honesty, integrity, purity, hard work, responsibility, etc.), preaching the gospel to their fellow men, and encouraging regular personal prayer and meaningful scripture study. In the United States, they are trying to do this through dictates from the courts. In the last few years, courts have often invented laws that go against the majority view of the people. That is the very reason that citizens of California have had to petition to have marriage defined in its constitution as being between a man and a women. Many people have said that if you support this proposition that you are just being hateful. The montra is Stop the hate, vote no on 8 (The proposition number). I think that this isn’t pleasing to our Heavenly Father who has tremendous love for all his children, yet has given us the eternal institution of marriage. As we think about this verse, we are reminded of the things that our Savior, Jesus Christ went through, even though He was kind to the people. He was betrayed by his disciple, Judas. He knew who would betray him and yet he still washed the feet of all his disciples (including Judas). When another disciple cut the ear off a soldier arresting Jesus, Jesus healed the soldier. Jesus went through the mockery of a trial, where in the end the people chose to free a man who had actually done evil things, rather than Jesus. These people told the government to crucify Jesus. Jesus had to wear a crown of thorns and to carry his own cross to the site of the crucifixion. While he was carrying his own cross, the people yelled at him, mocked him, spit upon him, etc., but Jesus just prayed for them. You think of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, where blood spilled from every pore to atone for the sins of all of Heavenly Father’s children. The soldiers nailed Jesus to the cross, rather than tie him to it, like they did to the other two prisoners. Then as a final mockery, they stabbed him in the side with a sword. Jesus asked Heavenly Father to forgive the soldiers, because “they knew not what they” were doing. Jesus died still loving the people, whether they hated him or loved him. Jesus set an example for us. Today there are a number of people who are angry with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for trying to keep the definition of marriage to remain as a union between a man and a woman. They are blocking the streets to the temple. They are calling church members hate-filled. Our church leaders are trying to urge everyone to be tolerant of each others belief, but the definition of tolerant seems to have changed. Today tolerant seems to mean that immoral behavior is to be condoned or else you are not tolerant. I pray that we as members of the church will be able to set an example of loving kindness towards those who disagree with us, yet still maintain our standards; that we will be that shining city on a hill to those around us who are looking to find the truth; and that Heavenly Father will continue to bless those who are diligent in keeping the commandments despite being labeled as hate-filled and evil.

    1 Nephi 19: 23 “And I did read many things unto them which were written in the books of Moses; but that I might more fully persuade them to believe in the Lord their Redeemer I did read unto them that which was written by the prophet Isaiah; for I did liken all scriptures unto us, that it might be for our profit and learning.”
    1 Nephi 19:24 “Wherefore I spake unto them, saying: Hear ye the words of the prophet, ye who are a remnant of the house of Israel, a branch who have been broken off; hear ye the words of the prophet, which were written unto all the house of Israel, and liken them unto yourselves, that ye may have hope as well as your brethren from whom ye have been broken off; for after this manner has the prophet written.”
    Because in the last couple of weeks, I haven’t had a great deal of time to sit at the computer and make comments on the reading and studying I have done in the Book of Mormon, this verse has stood out to me. Nephi wrote on the plates words from the prophet Isaiah. There are quite a number of chapters in the Book of Mormon quoting Isaiah. We can ask ourselves, why did Nephi spend such time and effort engraving onto gold plates all these words. It isn’t easy engraving words onto metal like my typing comments on the computer . Plus, Nephi was a prophet. He knew our time. He knew we would have a Bible in which some of the words of Isaiah would be included. Why didn’t he just say that he read the words from Isaiah to his brothers, that he thought that they were helpful in his testimony of the gospel, and be done with it? I think that he knew that the words of Isaiah would be imperative to our coming to a knowledge of our Savior and that we needed to implement Isaiah’s message into our daily lives. I also think that he knew that the Bible could and would be corrupted. I think that he wanted to ensure that the very words that gave him knowledge and comfort would be available for our benefit, profit and learning. I have been amazed at how comforting the words of Isaiah have been to me lately as I have been reading them in the midst of many in the world taking a different path, trampling under their feet and setting at naught the things of God. I have been trying to follow Nephi’s counsel and liken the scriptures unto me, that I might profit and learn by them.

    • 3 muahrilou January 13, 2016 at 8:22 am

      I got a little confused about the first plate, other plates and these plates. Is it not “these plates” were referring to the other plates? Thanks!

  3. 4 maryrubow January 17, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    Everything from 1 Nephi to the book of Omni, is the small plates, which are referred to as “these plates”. Anything else, is “other plates”, the “large plates”, or the “first plates”, because they were written first. We have this order (small plates preceding the large plates), because of the way things worked out during the translation of the Book of Mormon, by the prophet Joseph Smith.


Leave a Reply

About My Scripture Study Buddy

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I love the scriptures, but I am not a scriptorian. I've been told that I'm too "deep" for some, but if you are willing, I'd love to have others join me in my quest for a greater understanding of the gospel. Please feel free to leave me comments and hopefully we can help each other to learn.
Testimony

Testimony

I made an album with my dad in 2011. Check it out!

Testimony

NEW!!! Digital Downloads (mp3) available directly from the site.

Current Study

Currently I am studying the The Old Testament. I will be studying from the LDS - King James Version of the Bible (see link below). I am studying along with the book, Scripture Study for Latter-day Saint Families: The Old Testament by Dennis H. Leavitt and Richard O. Christensen.

Learn More:

I'm a Mormon

The Book of Mormon

You can order a free copy of the Book of Mormon here:

Book of Mormon Request

Archives

Follow me on Facebook:

My Wonderful Husband and Artist


